We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new years stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Guest House
Ranked #115 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“new years stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed from 31 Dec to 2nd Jan 2014 for new year celebrations Seb and Fernando made us very welcome and it felt like we had known them for a long time. The rooms were warm and very clean. the choices for breakfast was very good from cereals to full English to any combination of eggs We will stay here again when next in Scarborough.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 8 at the top but if you are less mobile stay in rooms 1 to 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billnbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    29
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
120
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed 30 December - 1 January with Seb and Fernando and it was a lovely stay. They were very nice, nothing too much bother. There was good security (3 locks to get through), rooms had everything we needed, although quite a small room - but what did I expect by booking a small double!!! :-)

As I can't drink coffee at the moment (6 months pregnant) Seb went out of her way trying to find me hot chocolate for the room :-)

Breakfast was amazing - you could really fill up so that your good for the whole day :-)

Lovely stay and considering they only took over a week ago excellent hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed 4 days over Xmas while visiting family who live nearby. The establishment had just been taken over by Seb and Fernando the Friday before our arrival. They gave us a very friendly and warm welcome. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them, and they helped make our stay very enjoyable. Our room (1) was very clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities, tea/coffee hairdrier etc, and there was mini shampoos and what have you in the spotless bathroom. Breakfast was good, with a varied choice of cereals, cooked breakfasts and toast etc in a pleasant dining room. Security was good with 3 sets of locks to go through, 2 on entry, and one for the room.Parking is first come first served, but we were provided with parking permits for the area . We just came and went as we pleased, but our hosts were always available if required. Overall a very pleasant experience, and we could see why the place has always had good reviews. I think Seb and Fernando will continue this trend if their warmth and enthusiasm is anything to go by.
The hotel is well situated to get to most of Scarboro's attractions, and ideally situated for the rail traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

this is our 2nd stay here, nothing was to much trouble, my wife has dietry problems, this was not a problem to Karen a marvellous hostess!, the location is as perfect as the hotel, we shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank petedrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The host and owner is very helpful the breakfast is spot on and the hotel is clean and modern,the beds were comfortable the only downside to the hotel is a central location because you pay for it with the noise at night we might have been unlucky but our sleeps were ruined by drunken people staying in other hotels in the square and other drinkers walking past, other than that its a great little hotel....

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and i have just returned fom a 2 night stay at the admiral which we booked last minute.
The location is great in a quiet square, opposite the railway station and main bus stops and minutes from the town centre, its about a 10 minute walk to the beach and harbour.
We stayed in the twin room on the third floor which was clean and comfy, Karen the owner was wecoming, friendly and very helpful with local knowledge.
The breakfast was excellent with a great choice.
We would definately recommend the Admiral for location, customer service and value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Admiral Hotel on our recent trip to Scarborough. We wanted to take advantage of our rail tickets for an English Heritage castle excursion on the afternoon of our arrival and we contacted Karen, the proprietor, in advance to arrange that our room would be available so we could store our luggage. The bed was extremely comfortable and the facilities were top notch. We stayed in one of the small double rooms but there was still sufficient space for two people. The location of the hotel, directly opposite the Train Station, was ideal. Breakfast was delicious and we were able to customise our order of cooked breakfast items to suit our own tastes. Karen and her assistant soon learnt what we liked and they were both extremely friendly and made us feel at home.
Karen also helped us with enquiries about places to visit and even provided us with bus schedules for the day trips we had planned and menus for the restaurants we wanted to dine at.
It was a reasonably priced stay and if we ever return to Scarborough then it is safe to say Karen will receive our return custom.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front would look onto the square outside but with its location you probably wont be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristopherT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#164 of 183 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Willow Dene
Willow Dene
#69 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#43 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#50 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Guest House

Property: Admiral Guest House
Address: 13 West Square, Scarborough YO11 1TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Admiral Guest House. Awarded winners of the TripAdvisor Excellence Award for Hospitality around the World year after year since it opened. Nestled within a picturesque square overlooking gardens, Admiral Guest House is a Victorian Grade II listed house which is 10 minutes' walk from the beach and directly opposite the rail station and major bus stops. Free WiFi is provided throughout Admiral Guest house, and each guest room features an en-suite bathroom, a digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We offer a variety of breakfasts including full English breakfasts or lighter choices, such as scrambled eggs on toast. Our full buffet of fresh fruit and yoghurts will offer a healthy addition to your breakfast plate. Special dietary requirements can be catered for if mentioned in advance. The award-winning Stephen Joseph Theatre is just a 1-minute walk away and offers a variety of live performances and screenings of the latest films. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Admiral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing