We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Guest House
Ranked #116 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely b&b”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

just wanted to say thanks to karen for a great two night stay at the admiral. nothing was too much trouble, the rooms were very clean and comfy and the en-suite was fab. although only a hop from the railway station we did not hear a train. it is very well located to the shops and a shortish walk from the beach. the breakfast are good quality, with a choice of cereals and fruit and another bonus was we were able to park with not much problem in the square in which the b&b is located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    30
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
121
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

words cannot express how great our stay was customer service is above and beyond its ideal location means you can walk to beach peasholm and other attractions with ease. railway is on the doorstep plenty of local shops nearby
breakfast was amazing room spotless
thank you
Ian and Joanna

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for a few weeks while working in the area and it was spot on. The hotel is very clean, the beds are very comfy and Karen, the landlady, is friendly and will make sure that you have everything you need. The breakfast is excellent and any preferences that you may have will be catered for. Location is good, central, near the train station. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

me and my girlfriend stayed for 3days, Thursday 20th June 2013, we got a BIG room facing the pond and railway station, bed was sooooooooo comfy, location perfect for us. Karen owner was very friendly and nice, got me some hot chocolate :)
breakfast perfect, fruit cereal cooked breakfast I had it all ...... best breakfast ever
we are deffo coming here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CARLht29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

what can i say
clean 5*
location 5**++
room 5*
food 5*+
value 5+
host 5*
all fantastic, everything was perfect from start to finish, stayed there wife my wife for 3 nights, brill welcome, amazing host (karen so natural and friendly a breath of fresh air) we often go around the country and stop in b&b but never done a review before, but felt this was well worth it....
i would recomend to anybody going to scarborough to stay here, can't say enough, any questions please feel free to ask, suitable for everybody.
location is fantastic for everywhere in and around scarborough, local transport is on the door step,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonylast001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a really nice comfortable hotel. Karen, the owner, went out of her way to give me a good visit. She got me lactose free milk and yoghurt and dairy free margarine, which makes such a difference, as I have lactose intolerance. She also switched me to a larger room as it was not occupied. It is just across the road from the railway station, so ideal if you are travelling by rail, but it is at the back of the square, so it is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked in here for our wedding anniversary , we found the location fantastic , right next to town , near bars, shops and restaurants and a short walk from the fronts. The room was clean and had everything we needed, Karen the owner was lovely and welcoming and the breakfast was also good and plenty of choice. Would recommend and definitely stay again :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Binfin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#49 of 183 in Scarborough
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#35 of 183 in Scarborough
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aartswood Guest House
Aartswood Guest House
#144 of 183 in Scarborough
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#17 of 183 in Scarborough
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Willow Dene
Willow Dene
#61 of 183 in Scarborough
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Guest House

Property: Admiral Guest House
Address: 13 West Square, Scarborough YO11 1TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Admiral Guest House. Awarded winners of the TripAdvisor Excellence Award for Hospitality around the World year after year since it opened. Nestled within a picturesque square overlooking gardens, Admiral Guest House is a Victorian Grade II listed house which is 10 minutes' walk from the beach and directly opposite the rail station and major bus stops. Free WiFi is provided throughout Admiral Guest house, and each guest room features an en-suite bathroom, a digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We offer a variety of breakfasts including full English breakfasts or lighter choices, such as scrambled eggs on toast. Our full buffet of fresh fruit and yoghurts will offer a healthy addition to your breakfast plate. Special dietary requirements can be catered for if mentioned in advance. The award-winning Stephen Joseph Theatre is just a 1-minute walk away and offers a variety of live performances and screenings of the latest films. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Admiral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing