We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab location would do it again tomorrow”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Buttercross

main bedroon with on suite wc and basin, sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
main bedroon with on suite wc and basin, sea view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
main bedroon with on suite wc and basin, sea view
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara W
Coalville, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab location would do it again tomorrow”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

lovely houses just like being at home. kids loved it as it was 2 mins from the beach. Excellent location for everything even got a shop and a pub on the doorstep.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoppy9832
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very well maintained in a great location. Two pubs and local store right on the door step. Mick was very helpful and left a bottle of wine for my birthday. Braved the weather and had a great BBQ on the patio. The beach is a short stroll away down a steep cobbled street but very manageable with sensible foot wear. My 3 year old Grandson loved the beach and donkey rides. I would certainly recommend Bay View coffee house on the sea front, try the Mocha coffee with chocolate flakes, best I have ever had! Harry Ramsden's fish and chips are superb. We all had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return to The Buttercross. Mick, I would suggest a mop and bucket for the kitchen floor..lol
Thanks for everything.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R W
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in march 2014. To start the booking process was simple and the owner, Mick, very helpful.
The property is situated just behind the seafront, literally less than a minute walk from the front although for the less able you do need to go up and down a short but steep bank to get there (and there are steps to the front of the property). Parking is by permit which Mick provides but i imagine you may have problems re-parking if you went out for the day although we didnt use the car at all while we were there.
The house was clean and warm with simple modern decor and a well equipped kitchen. Mick even left us some fresh milk in the fridge, and there was tea, coffee, sugar available too. A lovely touch.
Upstairs are 3 bedrooms: a double, a twin and a single all with comfortable beds. The double has an ensuite loo. Downstairs are the living room, kitchen and bathroom. Lots of hot water for the shower which is spotless and good water pressure.
The outside area has a small raised patio area with furniture but the immediate area shares an exit with next door.
The area was quiet through the night despite the proximity of a public house and there was a handy shop over the road with lovely friendly owners. This closed at 7pm.
We love Scarborough and could easily fill a week sampling the arcades and seaside delights. A great base for visiting the beautiful north yorks countryside too.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy L
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Marvellous short break in a great property and great location”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Great communication from Mick made our stay problem free. Can't beat the location - a stones throw from the seafront so the dog was well happy and although property hasn't a garden as such there is a decent grassy area up the hill near St Mary's church for a late dog walk ! Couple of pubs right on your doorstep ( Leeds Arms cosy with fire and quiz Monday night ). Accommodation has all you need including wifi and free view TV. Never a problem with hot water even though there were 5 of us - beds very comfy. No problem with parking.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing