We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Carvery”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #41 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liversedge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to The Highlander when visiting relatives in Scarborough so called here for Sunday lunch. It was a typical carvery but we could have a selection of meats and very good choice of vegetables. I must say this was one of the best sunday lunches i have ever had and just a shame it is so far away. Anyway would definitely recommend the food here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liversedgeblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    43
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
86
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

On a recent trip to Scarborough our B&B hosts suggested Highlander which was close and very dog friendly. This has the front section for those with dogs and on our first night there were several in at the same time, which was fine as they were all well behaved.
The food was excellent, and my nana was very impressed with the apple crumble. It was good value for money and the people are a mixture of locals and visitors and all were very friendly.
We were just gutted that they only serve food until 3pm on a Sunday and we missed it, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went to the Highlander recently for supper. We had sausage and mash which was very good with loads of veg and tasty onion gravy. We were impressed with the staff and the efficient way they served the food and cleared the tables. Service at the bar for drinks was excellent too and a good selection of beers available. Well done Highlander. We will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyannie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great food and hosts, thanks for the lovely welcome. The rooms were very large and comfortable. Breakfast ideal for the start of the day. Evening meals very good value and excellent quality. My sea view room was all that we could ask for.

Room Tip: Sea View great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have visited Scarborough for several years and have regularly eaten at this hotel/pub/restaurant. The food is excellent and the drinks are superb, with some real ales on draught. Food is served until 8.15pm each day except Sunday, when it is only served at lunch time. They are very welcoming and also dogs are allowed in the front bar area. I would recommend having a meal at this hotel. It is situated overlooking the sea on the Esplanade. We have not stayed overnight but the rooms look very inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile


Just back from a stay at The Highlander hotel Karen and the staff were very friendly nothing was to much bother. The room we stayed in had a lovely view it was pretty basic with a bit of dust here and there but basically clean. Meals were very nice and my husband and I agreed it was one of the best breakfast we have had in a hotel and we've stayed in a few. All in all if you like a friendly pub atmosphere The Highlander is perfect.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennywise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our second year at The Highlander and it most certainly won't be our last! Karen and Nick made us feel so welcome, it was a real home from home experience. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are generous and perfectly cooked. The evening meals are also plentiful, and we had a good choice of menus. If this wasn't enough to make us want to go again - and again! - the bar also has a selection of real ales and malt whiskies, a point much appreciated by one of my sons-in-law and myself!!
I can't praise this hotel enough! There were three generations of my family this time, and every one of us had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: The front bedrooms have a wonderful view over South Bay and the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dollandarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#50 of 183 in Scarborough
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: 15-16 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing