We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely welcoming Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #42 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked last minute for a 2 night stay last week. Found the Hotel very easily with parking right outside for which they give you a permit for your stay. Lovely welcoming atmosphere. The room we were given was a large family room which was very clean and comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee available in the room. A nice comfy settee to sit on whilst watching the television.
The public bar was a very popular place with the locals as well as the guests and the bar snacks and evening meals were very popular. Breakfast was very good and cooked fresh for you with plenty of cereals, orange juice tea or coffee and toast along with the full english breakfast. The views from the front of the hotel are spectacular looking across the whole bay. We were sorry to leave but would most definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    40
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
78
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were in Scarborough for a couple of days and called to have a drink outside as it was a nice day. As we sat and relaxed we decided that the food coming out looked very good so ordered lunch. We ordered off the 2 for £8 menu and my husband had haddock and chips (he said it was the best haddock he had ever had) and I had scampi which was also excellent.. Because we had enjoyed the food so much we decided we would go back for an evening meal the night after, but when we got there around 7.30 the bar was full and there was nowhere to sit. So next time we go we will definitely book a table (or even a room) as the food is delicious. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RotherhamVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked online and stayed at this hotel in a large group recently, and were very impressed.

Prior to arriving, we communicated via e-mail and received assistance with all of our requests, the replies were all prompt and polite.

The hotel is fairly easy to find, there is a large 24 hour car park just to the rear, however they also have parking permits available for hotel guests so that you can park outside which is great.

The hotel is located in a quiet area of South Bay beyond the entertainment and across the bridge, it's peaceful with a nice walk down to the beach and a few shops nearby. To walk to the harbour takes around 10-15 minutes.

On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed at the adjoining bar where drinks and bar meals were served (good quality home cooked British food). They were happy for us to enter the rooms early and leave our bags.
The rooms have clearly been recently renevated and are quite large. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the bathrooms are pleasant and even include a bidet (so nice to find these in England). In the room there was tea and coffee facilities, with a selection of biscuits, as well as some toiletries.

The breakfasts were excellent, and freshly cooked to order

Overall, we were very happy with the trip, and believe we got excellent value for money. We'd be happy to return. Friendly staff and friendly owners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Highlander in Scarborough is a fantastic place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfasts in the hotel part are great. The evening meals and drink selection in the bar are also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Having discovered the bar at the beginning of our weeks holiday we enjoyed our meals at first as they were well cooked and good value. Bar staff were friendly and helpful too. Unfortunately we were let down later in the week when we went to order our food only to be told that " sorry, no orders were being taken for another two hours" . Felt sorry for the bar staff but as you can imagine I was not going to wait so we found another nearby pub that could serve us and actually served us with a better meal. have received no response to my complaint and won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

As four of us were staying in a nearby guest house we were recommended by two local people to eat and drink here.We were not disappointed as the quality of the food was good and the prices were very realistic.The choice of beers was excellent and the drinks were good value for money.In fact we were so pleased we ate there the two nights we were staying in Scarborough.The bar staff were very pleasant and povided good service.It is advisable to book a tabe if eating early in the evening as the bar can get very busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stopped in on way back to my hotel. Ordered a pint of Lager. It was as flat as a pancake. I took it back to the bar and the landlady took one look at the glass and poured it into another. Put a head on it and said there you go.... 2nd one died a death instantly. Took 2 mouthfuls and let if along with the bar.

'The bar that time forgot'

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steviej73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#45 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#44 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: 15-16 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing