We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drinks”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #40 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

As four of us were staying in a nearby guest house we were recommended by two local people to eat and drink here.We were not disappointed as the quality of the food was good and the prices were very realistic.The choice of beers was excellent and the drinks were good value for money.In fact we were so pleased we ate there the two nights we were staying in Scarborough.The bar staff were very pleasant and povided good service.It is advisable to book a tabe if eating early in the evening as the bar can get very busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    43
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
86
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stopped in on way back to my hotel. Ordered a pint of Lager. It was as flat as a pancake. I took it back to the bar and the landlady took one look at the glass and poured it into another. Put a head on it and said there you go.... 2nd one died a death instantly. Took 2 mouthfuls and let if along with the bar.

'The bar that time forgot'

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steviej73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We didn't stay at the highlander but we had a lovely meal which was a very price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Born and bred in Scarborough - worked in all the big hotels and then moved away in the 80s - Came back for a nostalgic weekend and was a bit nervous of staying in a smaller guest house type as we usually stick to chain hotels and premier lodge. Walked into the friendly public bar and asked if they had any rooms and was greeted by very friendly (no idea if the owner or manager - sorry) - it was Easter Saturday and we were in luck - they had a no show so we bagged the Carlsberg room huge room with a double and single bed - 3rd floor looking out over the bay - breathtaking !!!. All spotlessly clean - newly decorated and very pleasant. The bathroom was nearly as big with a bath, and shower and loo and bidet - even a hairdryer! Lovely!

We were out for most of the time of our stay but cant fault this hotel - its a gem.

Breakfast , - although a bit earlier than we would normally go for, was brilliant - again friendly staff (or owner - sorry) lovely coffee - as much cereal and juice as we wanted then a full English Breakfast and toast and more if we wanted it.

We will definitely stay again - might even bring the children back! Thank you and hope you have a busy season.

Room Tip: Get a sea view!! its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel (we live nearby) but I'm leaving a review of the bar downstairs. We'd never eaten here before, and decided on the spur of the moment to have some food when we popped in for a drink, and we were glad that we did.
I had fish (it's local haddock) and chips, and it really was lovely; perfectly cooked fresh fish in their own batter, not your usual pub food. My partner had a cheeseburger, and he loved the fact that it didn't have the usual 'plastic' processed cheese in it, and the accompanying salad was nice and fresh. The desserts were lush too; home made apple pie was lovely. Notices on the tables with the menu advertised different nights during the week (and also a Sunday carvery), and on Thursday night it's 'fish night', where you can get the local haddock, chunky chips and peas with bread and butter for about £5.65 (I think....could've been £5.80....didn't look properly but it was definitely £5.something), which is an excellent price for the quality of the food. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekender15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel but will no doubt be doing so in the future. Wife and I travelled from Staffordshire to visit grandson and his children in Scarborough and pre booked via their web page for a meal in their restaurant/bar for Sunday lunch. The bar area was well patronised by locals and was clean, warm and inviting. The 'Highlander' theme was well in evidence by the bottles of whisky around the walls and the tartan carpet etc. We were seated at our reserved table downstairs and availed ourselves of the Sunday Carvery which was very nice and much better than some I have tasted in 'chain' carvery establishments. Nothing was too much trouble and the bill was reasonable for what we had purchased. I would recommend the establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed for three nights in this hotel. with excellent service from the staff in the hotel and a very welcome bar downstairs servicing excellent meals at reasonable prices. Decor is a little dated, but very clean.
Would recommed to anyone.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seslen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: 15-16 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing