We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #39 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel but will no doubt be doing so in the future. Wife and I travelled from Staffordshire to visit grandson and his children in Scarborough and pre booked via their web page for a meal in their restaurant/bar for Sunday lunch. The bar area was well patronised by locals and was clean, warm and inviting. The 'Highlander' theme was well in evidence by the bottles of whisky around the walls and the tartan carpet etc. We were seated at our reserved table downstairs and availed ourselves of the Sunday Carvery which was very nice and much better than some I have tasted in 'chain' carvery establishments. Nothing was too much trouble and the bill was reasonable for what we had purchased. I would recommend the establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    42
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
82
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oldham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed for three nights in this hotel. with excellent service from the staff in the hotel and a very welcome bar downstairs servicing excellent meals at reasonable prices. Decor is a little dated, but very clean.
Would recommed to anyone.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seslen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel come public bar is perched up on the South Cliff in Scarborough UK.. We have stayed here many times over the years. We stayed in the Clark room which as the most stunning views accross Scarborough town, the sea, and the castle which sits high above the town. Leaving the hotel and walking down into the town is a such a treat. You could spend hours looking at the sights & surrounding area. Up the road towards the Italian gardens you will come accross a large building which is used in the TV series The Royal.. Coming back to the hotel are Nick & Karen who are the owners, they are two great people more than helpful to make your stay a pleasant one. Nick & Karen are supported by their son and daughter and a brilliant friendly team of staff. A full English breakfast, cerial , toast tea or coffee,the choice is your just by the asking. The bar is friendly,used by locals and holiday makers,a good place to chill and enjoy. Been twice already this year, back in September. Good value for money. Evening meals are lovely if you wish to eat in the hotel. Parking is free on the road which is a one way systom. Hotel will give you a parking permit .Sandra & Keith Halifax UK

Room Tip: Views! book a room at the front. Wm Clark is our favourite. Not had any trouble with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We attended a conference at the Spa Complex and stayed at the Highlander along with another couple, friends of ours. We were all made very welcome with really excellent rooms and large bathrooms to match. the staff were very helpful - no doubt following their Landlady's example. The beer is just about the best once could possibly expect from a hotel bar, probably because it is used by the locals. The breakfast was personally prepared to order, fresh and very moor-ish. The Landlady even arranged secure storage for my bicycle. The bill at the end was up to half what other conference goers were paying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and found it to be very good, the decor is a little dated but the size of the rooms and views combined with excellent service from all the staff in the hotel and the bar downstairs(serving great food, lunch and evening meals at resonable prices) you can forgive the decor. the clenliness of the hotel is very very good with not a spot of dust or dirt anywere in our room. We would not hesitate to return for a weekend break. P.S. the hotel is also very dog friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dewdrop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights attending a wedding actually held 2 doors down at the 4 star CROWN SPA. Great accomadations, we had a big room on the top floor overlooking the bay. Full english for breakfast, all well done. The pub was great, the collection of single malt scotch was worth the visit to see at any time....

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ERCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We have visited the Highlander many times over recent years, but this was our first stay. The welcome was warm and friendly, the rooms were warm and cosy and we lucky enough to have a room at the front which gave us the classic view of the north bay and harbour. The breakfast was wholesome and the barmeal we had was delicious and good value. The location of the hotel gives easy access to the town centre and seafront. The hotel bar must be the warmest in Scarborough with an open fire heating the room in which the barstaff were friendly as were the locals, not to mention a good range of beers and lagers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidnLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#50 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#45 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: 15-16 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing