We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay - apart from filthy dishes”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #161 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good stay - apart from filthy dishes”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

I stayed with my family and even though the hotel is basically a pub with rooms, I was quite happy with the stay. Unfortunately small faults ruined our stay - the cups, glasses and cutlery used at breakfast looked as if they were rinsed in dirty dishwater. Our room was fine, enough heaters to keep us warm. May be the reason they take a deposit and cash payment up front.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablonumerouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    55
    28
    20
    26
See reviews for
24
77
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire,UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

After reading what other people have said about this place, we are really suprised. The rooms were clean, and the beds comfy. But we didn't find the staff very friendly, and found it was a bit like a pub with rooms, not a hotel! We had to walk through the pub and then up through a function room where an Engagement party was being held-this felt like we were intruding. We got to our room and it was freezing cold with only a small heater....the bathroom never heated up at all! For breakfast in the morning we were offered tea or coffee, which was then brought out in mugs with a Tesco 2 pint carton of milk. The juice offered was then a carton removed from the table that had been vacated a while back and not cleared away. We were offered cereals OR full english, so we opted for the full english....no toast offered and when it came it wasn't much to talk about. When we left the hotel/pub everything had been locked up, so nowhere to put our key...as we walked past the window where we had had breakfast, all our pots were still left on the table! Wouldn't go back again...service could have been better.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateywatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

durham
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

me and 2 mates travelled down from ferryhill for my 40th birthday, we had a great time, room was really big, beds were really comfy, shower was really good, all staff were really helpfull, big hearty breakfast next morning. 5 mins walk to all pubs, clubs, really enjoyed ourselves, definately stay over again,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

a group of us stayed here and we found it to be a brilliant hotel, staff great, the food was gorgeous, and the rooms were clean and a great size, located right in the town, so close to almost everything. we are defo coming back to stay

  • Liked — location, rooms and staff
  • Disliked — reception was limited
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddlesbroughJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2007

stayed at this hotel with friends for my 40th birthday the hotel was welcoming and friendly .the staff always had a smile nothing was too much for them .close to all pubs and entertainment and local attractions.the rooms were really clean and comfortable the shower was great plenty of hot water.in the morning the breakfast was out of this world going back to this hotel on the 13th july 2007 for a surprise birthday loved the hotel so much i would recommend this hotel ten out of ten.

  • Liked — everthing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank suzywongWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

we were a group of 24 male golfers aged from 30 and 60 staying two nights, rooms were clean and good showers in the bathroom, good breakfast, pub downstairs and golf simulators upstairs. young smiling and helpful staff who kept the bar open until 05.00. handy for town centre with restaurants and bars in walking distance

  • Liked — all the things a golf trip needed
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed at this hotel with a group of friends August 2006. It is located just opposite the railway station.

The staff were so friendly and always had a smile on their face. they just could not do enough to make our stay perfect. I was always pestering them to order taxis for us all and they really did not mind a bit.

The rooms were clean, and comfortable and the shower was pretty good and there was always lots of hot water.

Breakfast was yummy, cereals, toast, and cooked breakfasts including vegetarian cooked breakfasts, all served piping hot.

The day we were leaving, our train was not until after lunch and they let us have a late check-out of 1pm which was perfect, at no extra charge.

Helpful?
6 Thank zemfru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#115 of 182 in Scarborough
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#14 of 182 in Scarborough
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 79 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located hotel opposite Scarborough Railway Station just a 2 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the South Bay. We benefit from our own parking facilities which are provided free of charge to our hotel guests. Our hotel is very old, dating back to the 1800's, which adds plenty of history and character to the building. All our 16 bedrooms are en-suite and include a tea tray for your comfort. Irons and hairdryers are available on request from reception. Meals available from 8-8 Monday to Saturday and 8-3 on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing