We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #165 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Came here with my mam for wk end stay, got a cheaper deal through groupon. For what we paid its good value for money, staff lovely, food really good, bedroom clean and spacious. I agree when entering it can be a bit (take a step back) not knowing where to go as its a pub but once you get over that, there is no need for this hotel to get bad feedback. I would defo return but not sure if I'd pay full price! Thank you for our stay

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

After reading past reveiws on this hotel i was abit worried! Why i dont know! Amazing Food, Clean well maintained bedrooms, Friendly staff always smiling and happy to help! Great atmosphere, a very pleasant stay, we will diffinetley be returning to the Victoria Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Would not return to this hotel! Firstly it's hard to find the car park and when you do it doesn't seem a very safe place to keep your car. Secondly as you walk in there is no reception area just an old fashioned bar were the occupants sit and stare at you and don't make room for you at the bar to check in. We had our meal in the bar, which was included in our stay, and it wasn't very nice. They had ran out of the gammon and chicken so my partner ended up having chips and garlic bread! I had the lasagne which looked nice but was cold in the middle so wasn't eaten. As we sat down for our meal there was nearly a fight at the bar between two women (one of which we told was supposed to be banned). Our room was spacious and light and the beds were very comfy. Very old fashioned tv (which you needed two remotes to work) one of the remotes had no back and the other had a plaster stuck to it to stop the back falling off! All in all quite a rough hotel which we will not be returning to!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The accomodation was standard at that. The bar on the Wednesday night was over run by young teenagers. Very noisy and boisterous. Two if the staff behind the bar didn't seem to have any type of uniform on. And when served my drinks, all of them were flat. Obviously not trained staff. Would not recommend that place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hennessy3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

i would never recommend this "hotel" save your money and go else where , rude team members ,doors that dont lock ,out side door that has a drop latch is permantly locked we could not get in in fact one gentleman had been knocking on the door for over twenty minutes apart from the fact this is a massive fire hazard what about safety ! my friend was man handled by a team member and this was on checking in , no hot water !!!! to be honest this list is endless and i do not have enough space to write in for the full story i asked for a refund on three occasions and was told " you will be lucky " i honestly dont know how they got a certificate of excellence .so top tip save your money go else where because these guys honestly dont care

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicola s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed there for the second time
after midnight all quietens down good nights sleep
nothing fancy you get just what you pay for
will go back again
excellent breakfast pleasant staff
just need to remember to turn the heater on when you first go in

Room Tip: top floor very quiet with a good view you can even see the sea from some rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobriv990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked a Groupon stay here before reading Trip Advisor reviews and were a little worried after reading some. But when we arrived check in was friendly (a little trouble getting the computer to obey) and were warned about needing a parking permit for the courtyard car park.
The room was spick and span, bed comfortable, shower and toilet fine. Shower could have been a little larger but then I could gave been a little smaller!
The only comment about the room was that it needs a bedside table on BOTH sides of the bed not just one and better lighting.
Breakfast was good, with cereal and juice self service and cooked breakfast to order.
Definitely stay there again, but for longer next time!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank jelunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#20 of 26 in Scarborough
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#120 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 79 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $55 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located hotel opposite Scarborough Railway Station just a 2 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the South Bay. We benefit from our own parking facilities which are provided free of charge to our hotel guests. Our hotel is very old, dating back to the 1800's, which adds plenty of history and character to the building. All our 16 bedrooms are en-suite and include a tea tray for your comfort. Irons and hairdryers are available on request from reception. Meals available from 8-8 Monday to Saturday and 8-3 on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing