We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Poor!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #165 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wouldn't recommend this place at all. It's extremely noisy as we were put in a room right next to the main road, I woke up several times because of the loud traffic and train station. Also the floor boards are extremely creaky. Found the staff to be extremely rude as well. One member of staff just walked in to our room without our permission whilst my boyfriend was getting changed. Also a few minutes later another member of staff came up to our room and told us we would be getting charged extra because we didn't check out at 10am. However, when we arrived we got told nothing about the check out time. Can't get in the side door either, it took me and my boyfriend about 20 minutes to open it and when we called for assistance nobody came. Crap.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eilish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and following your comments we will aim to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 180 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked one night online b&b for £60 for 2 of us. If you booked with them direct it would have been £70. We had room 1 which was ok for one night. Tea and coffee, tv. Could do with a good update but was fine. We had a meal in there that night that was good, 2 for £9.00.
Our room was very hard to lock the door it was the key. Had no hot water the morning we left.
Car park when we got there was a bit hard to find a space but we got one next to the wall. We were able to leave it there till 12 on the day we left. That was good.
Breakfast was good.
On returning back to the hotel after our night out we couldn't get in with our key, there were 2 other couples there who struggled aswell. After 5 mins messing we got in.
Overall I would go back because of the location. But could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The3M's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are currently working hard to update areas of the building at present and hope, should you return, you will find a big difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently booked a three day break through Groupon at the Victoria hotel in Scarborough. We had a lovely room with a king size bed. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had a window which is unusual in hotels. There were tea/coffee and biscuits provided and re-filled each day. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked with as much toast and coffee as we wanted. Staff were friendly and obliging. The lift is a bit slow and only takes two people at a time but this was not a problem as the hotel was a bit quiet until the weekend. The location is great, right opposite the station. The pub is a bit shabby and in need of a refit. we paid £89 for two people B/B for the three days which is very good value. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannyannie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Fancied an extra night in Scarborough, went online at 12.00 in Scarborough library, had the keys and back out enjoying ourselves by 13.00. Booked a double room for my wife and myself, got the family room which was excellent.
We normally stay at the Grand, and were a bit wary having read some negative reviews. However we got a clean tidy room, the staff were brilliant, and having breakfast cooked freshly for you and brought to your table was a nice change for us. If you want to find faults you can, If you want a comfortable clean room as a base to enjoy Scarborough and the surrounding area at an excellent price, please use the "Vic" you won't be disappointed.
Thank You for a lovely end to our time in Scarborough, we will be back.

Room Tip: You are booking BED and BREAKFAST, if you want more, pay £200 for a nice suite at one of the bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunoscarborough, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week during a working holiday, the hotel is a standard B&B, plain rooms & bathroom. I couldn't have anything to fault.
The service from the bar staff was lovely, the car park wasn't a proper car park but it was off road and suitable to park a car, the lift was a bit knakered & the rooms were a tad dated. But I didn't mind this, it was a place to sleep and get washed. I managed :)

I didn't find it that noisey, it was more the seagulls that I could hear. One night the hotel had a party and music was playing but that went off at 11.

If I was looking for a week or weekend away, I would definitely consider this place again, very central to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

room was clean and buts thats the only positive thing i can say about the whole weekend. noisy does not come close. the bar, the street, the creaking floor boards, the paper thin walls the telly that did not work all i can say is do not stay here, after paying £75 for a double room with breakfast expected something better than this absolute garbage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Group of lads booked on over the bank holiday weekend in early May.
The rooms which are above a pub were in good condition and the beds comfy.
Breakfast was spot on, and staff were friendly.
One thing to note if you are a group there is a deposit of £10 pp which is fair enough but i wasn't told that on the phone when i booked. Also there is a side door to get in on a night and it is a bit dodgy, luckily we got in ok but if you have to wake up the resisdent night porter to get in then you would lose your deposit.

Overall though it was a good place to stay i would recommend this hotel but more for groups rather than families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazstacy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Hotel
Cumberland Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Robin Hoods Bay
841 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
271 reviews
4.1 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 79 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $56 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located hotel opposite Scarborough Railway Station just a 2 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the South Bay. We benefit from our own parking facilities which are provided free of charge to our hotel guests. Our hotel is very old, dating back to the 1800's, which adds plenty of history and character to the building. All our 16 bedrooms are en-suite and include a tea tray for your comfort. Irons and hairdryers are available on request from reception. Meals available from 8-8 Monday to Saturday and 8-3 on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing