We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go for break”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #166 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights wed to friday last week and it was just the same as when i stayed in november, and that was great. My single en suite room was spacious and clean as usual with crisp bedding .there is no central heating but wall heaters provided heat your room in minutes shower and toilet spotless and brekky great evening meals also very good and good price service also good the barman on finishing his shift on thursday at 7 30 made a point of coming to my table and saying googbye as he new he wouldnt see me friday as he was not working . I thought this was very nice gesture . I will be back very soon. Thank you the old vic.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave willy .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 173 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

Disappointed with the 2pm check in when it says 12 noon on website. They should advise that the hotel does not have central heating in the rooms; I have never been so cold in all my life!! There were no spare blankets and I booked a double room and got two singles pushed together and made up as a double. Breakfast was like something from Faulty Towers with one adult and lots of kids running about doing their own thing but not what they were supposed to be doing to help. Nice clean room though but I wouldn't stay there again and wouldn't recommend it either.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at this 'hotel' on Saturday 18th February for one night. The rooms are clean and value for money but that's all. Breakfast is fine, full English, cereal, toast, juice etc. The only thing we found was that the walls between the rooms were paper thin and didn't keep any noise out. There was a group of about 10 guys in the room above (a double!) who decided to come in at 4.30am and kept everyone up until breakfast (and trashed their room). Nothing was done which considering the amount of noise was pretty bad. We wont be staying there again. However, if you are on a Stag or Hen weekend then it's probably ok for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexis_dagreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed 1 night for £40 which included breakfast for two,so its hard to be too critical.When i booked, the website made it look like a hotel, it is infact a pub with rooms above,i dont have a problem with this,but i do have a problem with a room above a function room and listening to Agadoo etc until midnight.
Room itself a bit tatty but clean,breakfast ok and free parking which is a bonus in Scarborough.
I wouldnt stay here again but if you decide to,make sure your not above the function room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lufc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Sayed for 2 nights. Excellent value we stayed in a family room had twin beds and a large double bed for 2 of us.Tea and coffee facilities in room with ample tea and coffee with milk sachets and biscuits. Room was cold when we went in but soon warmed up with both heaters on. Freeview was available too. Staff were very friendly just ask and they will do their best. Bathroom was a bit small but adequate, water always hot. Right in centre of town and 10 minute walk down hill to seafront, 15 mins back up! Car park was in need of tarmacing but safe enough. Breakfast was very good with plenty to eat ranging from full english to bacon sandwiches, cereals, juice, toast and jam. Pub meals very reasonably priced however the weekend we went were not available so a bit dissapointed on that, however there were other places to eat nearby. Lift was in the pub, we found this no problem at all no noise from the bar or the function room in which a karaoke disco was taking place on Saturday night, you were also allowed to take drinks up to the room. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 night (17th January 2012), its really a pub with B&B.
The rooms were very clean, warm and spacious; bath/shower room a bit cramped, large comfortable beds.
Food (pub style) great value for money (2 main courses for £8-00) tasty and well presented, breakfast excellent.
Car park at rear and rear entrance a bit untidy but overall great value (I paid £40 per night for 2 guests including breakfast).
Its well worth a visit, friendly helpful staff deserves support, we shall return.

Room Tip: Opposite railway station close to main shopping area. Debit/credit cards not accepted in public ba...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This hotel was a fantastic deal! My husband and I spent 5 mid-week nights at this hotel for only £20 a night, which included a full English breakfast each morning. It has a great location straight across from the rail station and only a short walk down to the coast and shops. The staff was very friendly. The room wasn't fancy and didn't have any extras, but it suited our sleeping needs just fine.

We stayed in room #8 which is the family room sleeping up to 4 people. It was on the back side of the building which in the evenings we could hear people outside talking and laughing, but it never went too late.

The first night we ate downstairs at the pub which had good food at really good prices for a sit-down place. I didn't think the ambiance music in the evening was appropriate; it was too loud for conversation and had a "dance club" feel.

Overall, though, it was a good experience and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#19 of 26 in Scarborough
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#120 of 184 in Scarborough
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 79 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $55 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a centrally located hotel opposite Scarborough Railway Station just a 2 minute walk from the town centre and 10 minutes from the South Bay. We benefit from our own parking facilities which are provided free of charge to our hotel guests. Our hotel is very old, dating back to the 1800's, which adds plenty of history and character to the building. All our 16 bedrooms are en-suite and include a tea tray for your comfort. Irons and hairdryers are available on request from reception. Meals available from 8-8 Monday to Saturday and 8-3 on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing