We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of The Helaina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Helaina
Ranked #18 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Bed was really comfortable, just as the last couple of reviewer noted, I'd like to take it home with me.We had a nice breakfast, loved the brown toast! The decor in the hotel is nearly Art Deco, but it's modern as well. It's a long long way from those seaside boarding houses of yesteryear. Bathrobes and chocolates and an honesty bar downstairs all made it fab, oh yes I almost forgot, and then there's the view!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephinebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 503 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our hostess Natalie was wonderful - her enthusiastic welcome and knowledge of Scarborough set the tone for a lovely stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room was beautiful - although a bit tight for room for getting around the end of the bed. The view from our room was spectacular. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Tom, the owner, and Natalie, the staff, were exceptional hosts. Their warmth and hospitality had us feeling we had arrived at a dear relative's home. The view from our room was breathtaking and the bed was incredibly comfortable. A great breakfast started our morning, followed by a day of exploration (much of it suggested by Natalie) in and above the village. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Loved my experience here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Perfect weekend away!
Lovely B&B with friendly staff, gorgeous breakfast and beautifully decorated rooms and accomodation. Couldn't fault it!

Brilliant location overlooking the sea- will definately recommend to others and will come back again.

Staff also recommending restaurants and places to go as well as chocolates on the best - nice touch!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dicko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

It was our honeymoon. A lovely hotel with superb seaviews. Close to town with the beach on the doorstep. Friendly staff and yummy breakfast. Our room felt like home from home, very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExBrummieLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had high expectations of the Helaina after reading outstanding trip advisor reviews. However, do not book this if you are not good with stairs or dislike views of dismal run-down buildings. Firstly, the rooms are overly hot at night leading to an uncomfortable night's sleep. Secondly, we had not booked a sea-view but were not expecting to wake up to the hideous sight of run-down houses at the back. The night was extremely noisy and constantly interrupted by seagulls and people walking past. The honesty bar is good, but quite empty at best and breakfast stops at 10am sharp. Overall, quite saddened to say we were disappointed with our stay and won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank keenhoteller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Recently refurbished so it feels fresh and new. Friendly service.
Overlooks the seafront and within walking distance to eateries and Scarborough castle.
Excellent breakfast. My particular room was small but OK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 183 in Scarborough
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helaina

Address: 14 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $102 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Helaina 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Helaina Guest House has newly refurbished rooms. The Helaina overlooks Scarborough's beautiful North Bay and has stunning sea views encompassing the castle and miles of coastline. We are 5 minutes walk from the town centre, North and South beaches, harbour, castle and lots of places to eat and drink. There is on-street parking and we provide free local parking permits on arrival. We have an small honesty bar and free WiFi throughout. Our newly refurbished rooms are modern, stylish and very comfortable with high quality en-suite facilities with soft bathrobes, large bath towels and beautiful toiletries. Our bedrooms are packed with goodies including LCD digital TV, hair driers, alarm clocks and refreshments including biscuits, tea, filter coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate. Please note our rooms vary in size and view and not all rooms have sea views. All our rooms are pictured and described online, we recommend that guests look at this information before booking to ensure the accommodation meets your requirements. We also have newly refurbished modern Luxury Apartments located next door to The Helaina B&B. They offer spacious, comfortable accommodation for families and couples. Some have stunning Sea Views. They are available for bed and breakfast or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Helaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helaina Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing