We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly”
Review of The Helaina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Helaina
Ranked #11 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely and friendly”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for one night and booked last minute.The property is overlooking North Bay and has fanastic views.We were met by Leanne when we arrived, who was very chatty and made us feel very welcome. Parking is on the road outside and you are given a permit for free parking.

We had a double room which was at the back of the property.It was a good size, very clean and had everything you needed. Bed was comfy and the ensuite had a lovely big shower. Bath robes and big towels were also a plus.Good choice of tea&coffee in room too.

Breakfast was lovely and cooked beautifully, very fresh and a great choice. Served again by Leanne,quickly and efficently.
There is a lovely guest lounge at the front which had a good selection of books, leaflets etc. It also housed the honesty bar which seemed to be well stocked.

We had a lovely stay and would go back as it is in a great location for walking into the town or for heading out onto the Cleveland way. Would recommend and would try a sea view room next!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have the best view , rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillWilson, Owner at The Helaina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. Leanne and our small team of staff do a great job for us. On our website there is a 'Rooms and Rates' page with a full description and picture of all our rooms (including the view).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    80
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
342
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from another nice stay at the Helaina, this time in the 1 bed apartment which is lovely. Although when we return I think we'll go for the new 2 bed apartment as its very noisy in the 1 bed apartment being next to the enterance hall and other guests shouting and banging through the door at midnight was a nuisance! The enternace hall backs into living room and you can literally hear everything from there. Also as on street level felt a little bit like a goldfish on display all the time and feel the 2nd floor apartment will offer more privacy. Kitchen is good, electric cookers arent my favourite but it was a good oven. Apartment was very clean and comfortable, lovely decor! Bedroom is really nicely decorated with a comfy bed. The sofa and chair in the room were comfy to get cosy on after a cold day on the front!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillWilson, Owner at The Helaina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked the apartment but very sorry to here you were disturbed. Our Apologies.

The Apartment is in a bock with 4 other Apartments. We only accept families and couples and invariably our guests are nice respectful people wanting a peaceful break in high quality accommodation. Unfortunately its very difficult to legislate for all behaviour at all times. Our apologies again.

The Apartment is on the ground floor (no stairs), set up and back from the pavement with great views over the North Bay. Guests sat in the window can be seen from outside as can the occupants of all the other ground floor apartments in the North Bay. If you are wanted by the Police / Immigration we would recommend you book one of our other apartments (or turn yourself in).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a very stressful week in London we made our way to the Helaina for a well deserved 3 night stay. My husband Terry had been unwell the whole time we stayed in London so it was realy nice to arrive and be welcomed by Jill who carried our cases to our room and set a place for us in the dinning room so we could get a carry out delivered for dinner as we had no energy to go out. I made myself very comfortable in the guest lounge and helped my self to the honesty bar. Next moring I ventured down for breakfast leaving Terry in bed as he was still poorley. Jill got me my very nice breakfast and she also took Terry some very welcome bacon sandwitches up to our room. I cannot praise The Helaina enough . We stayed in room 4 overlooking the sea what bliss. We willbe going back and this time we will mke sure Terry is fit and well so that we can get out and about more. Thanks Jill for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindilouedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillWilson, Owner at The Helaina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks very much for you lovely review. We hope to see you both again. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovley few days in this hotel. I recommend you book the delux room as it has an amazing view of the North beach.
Breakfast was good quality.
Lovely place, we will book again when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillWilson, Owner at The Helaina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for your great review. The Deluxe rooms are our best rooms. They have a big bay window with a great panoramic view over the North Bay, Castle and cliffs up the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

we stayed at the Helaina for two nights from 24th oct we have stayed before as we try to have a mini break every year, as always we were greeted cheerfully given a parking permit and given keys to come and go as we pleased, we stayed in room 7 which is a double sea view which is more than adequate for us. the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is a real treat with fresh local produce cooked to perfection. leanne was helpful and chatty and although we dont really see the owners the place is a credit to them. hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: book a sea view its well worth the little extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_allsopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillWilson, Owner at The Helaina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again Claire and thanks for your kind review. Jill and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Helaina for a one night break to celebrate our early anniversary. It was excellent, the bed was so comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep. We were glad to not have requested a sea-view as the weather was so foggy we couldn't see the sea even when standing outside the front of the hotel!

Lovely welcome with chocolates on the bed, really nice toiletries, fluffy towels and bath robes.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillWilson, Owner at The Helaina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. Sorry about the fog! You will have to take our word on the view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the moment we checked in we really felt special. Room 12 on the top floor was overlooking the sea and really comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hotel is in a very good location for town or the beach. Breakfast each morning was extra special, with wonderful choices and perfectly cooked and presented. We were so lucky with the weather both on Saturday and Sunday so we experienced Scarborough as its best however just as we left on Monday morning we were served with a parking ticket even though we had a parking permit from the hotel. It appears that after we had parked for the night cones were put in place and the zone became a restricted one! It was pouring rain on Monday morning but we made our way to the fines office and filled out an appeal form. There is a difference between the 'spirit' of the law and the 'letter' of the law which Scarborough Council fail to see. The car also was not UK registered. No fault on the part of the hotel but guests beware.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are essential for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JillWilson, Owner at The Helaina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. Obviously we are delighted you liked our B&B but we are really sorry about the parking ticket!

Scarborough council coned off some of the parking on the road outside to access some very minor pavement repairs. I think the guests car was already parked their when it was coned off and they may not have subsequently seen the notice. So they were very unfortunate. Common sense often prevails at SBC parking services so hopefully the ticket will be waivered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 182 in Scarborough
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Helaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helaina

Property: The Helaina
Address: 14 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Helaina 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award Winning Helaina Guest House has newly refurbished rooms. The Helaina overlooks Scarborough's beautiful North Bay and has stunning sea views encompassing the castle and miles of coastline. We are 5 minutes walk from the town centre, North and South beaches, harbour, castle and lots of places to eat and drink. There is on-street parking and we provide free local parking permits on arrival. We have an small honesty bar and free WiFi throughout. Our newly refurbished rooms are modern, stylish and very comfortable with high quality en-suite facilities with soft bathrobes, large bath towels and beautiful toiletries. Our bedrooms are packed with goodies including LCD digital TV, hair driers, alarm clocks and refreshments including biscuits, tea, filter coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate. Please note our rooms vary in size and view and not all rooms have sea views. All our rooms are pictured and described online, we recommend that guests look at this information before booking to ensure the accommodation meets your requirements. We also have newly refurbished modern Luxury Apartments located next door to The Helaina B&B. They offer spacious, comfortable accommodation for families and couples. Some have stunning Sea Views. They are available for bed and breakfast or self catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Helaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helaina Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing