We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chatsworth Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #167 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This had had to be one of the WORST hotels/bed and breakfasts I have stayed at, EVER. The first room we were given was a family room and had seaviews. HOWEVER, the room smelt, there was mould growing in the shower, and the bed linen had absorbed cooking smells. There was no handsoap in the room and when I requested some, I was informed that it was not hotel policy to provide soap. After complaining we were moved to two twin rooms, both substandard in terms of general hygiene. As it was late we accepted the move, but made sure that we were out of the building as soon as possible the next day. I feel for the manager who was aware of the poor quality of rooms on offer but unable to do anything about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peja56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    6
    5
    15
See reviews for
27
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We booked two nights in this so called "HOTEL" and what a nightmare, the double room we were offered was two single beds pushed together and was so small it was a joke. The room was smelly and disgustingly filthy we asked for another room and was told there was not one so we decided to leave and look elsewhere our money was not refunded so we decided to go to the tourist information centre to find alternate accommodation and report this hotel to the tourist board for the state of it and to question how it can be inspected and awarded a 2 star hotel status, we were shocked to find out that the owners had in fact rated themselves and had never had an official inspection from the AA or visit britain who are the only 2 official inspecting bodies in the UK. We were advised to take this up with the trading standards which we will be doing first thing in the morning when they open, beware of false ratings by this and many more hotels and B & B's

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redfred055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

was very friendly lovely dinning room great breakfast the owner has not long been there although it needs decorating we had a clean and large room with sea view great location and the owner very friendly and nothing was to much trouble and she certainly made you feel welcome thankyou for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had a family room , was clean and comfortable,great breakfast. The host's couldn't do enough for you,The hotel is situated in a good location with a bus that takes you along the shore round into Scarborough town. Next to local swimming baths and great sea views.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

we stayed easter weekend 2011, The rooms were very comfy and clean ideal location for the south bay 5 mins in car. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best we have had and the staff so friendly, they will bend over backwards to make your stay a nice one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stupot1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

After reading previous reviews I saw that this hotel had new management and decided to ignore previous bad reviews which were out of date. Travelled with a large group who all felt this hotel was a good standard.This proved to be an excellent choice, very good value for money, a high standard of food and cleanliness and very friendly, excellently positioned. Give the new management a chance you wont be dissappointed

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rihtmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

I wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful as a base to watch a 4-day county match: Yorkshire v Hampshire. This hotel gave me excellent value-for money for adequate accommodation; a decent breakfast and friendly management.

The location improved even more when I discovered Jeremy's Restaurant and realised how close it was to the Chatsworth Hotel. B&B at the Chatworth; dinner at Jeremy's. That's the formula for good living at affordable prices!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farecomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#14 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#108 of 182 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#64 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#52 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: 14 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing