We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to visit”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.66*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #13 of 88 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We visited the Sea Life Sanctuary recently and had a lovely time. They have a stunning range of sea life on show. The otters and seals were particularly cute, the seals seemed to be proper show offs. Highly recommend it for couples or families alike.

Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi Mark

Thanks for your review.

We are so glad you find SEA LIFE a great place to visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,913 - 1,917 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Living in scarborough is fantastic and having the sea life centre on the door step is a bonus so if your in the area please do take the time to go you won't be disappointed the penguins are wonderful so amusing and so are the seals the children love to see them being fed,you can also try your luck and pan for gold you never now you could be lucky ,all in all a great time was by all.

Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hi Irene

Thanks so much for your fantastic review.

It's brilliant to hear you think Scarborough SEA LIFE is great and we hope to welcome you back again this summer.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been here several times, but never found the attraction value for money. In the summer there is usually a very long queue to get in, so be prepared to wait 20 to 30 minutes. Once inside apart from the main attraction, there is a good cafe and well stocked souvenir shop. The kids love it, so it's worth visiting.

Thank leslie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hi Leslie

Thanks for reviewing your trips to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

It's great to hear your kids love visiting and that you like our good cafe and well stocked shop.

We are sorry you felt your experience did not represent good value. We monitor guest perception on this issue very closely and happily the vast majority believe they get excellent value for money. We also take into consideration the prices charged by competitors, both in the aquarium sector and in other leisure attractions, and are confident our pricing, given the quality of our offering, is extremely competitive. One factor which may have a bearing is the time taken to investigate each of our displays. Sea creatures seldom line up to be admired of course, and those who derive most from a visit to Sea Life are invariably those who linger at each display and make sure they see everything, if necessary asking one of our friendly staff to help point out the more elusive creatures and explain some of their fascinating features. We sincerely hope you will visit again and explore more thoroughly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Been to Sea life at Scarborough three times now when our family with children visit, first time very disappointed could not see through the glass as water was so dirty.A little better the next two occasions but certainly not worth the full ticket money.Staff very friendly.

1  Thank Yorkshirecouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hi Yorkshirecouple

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visits to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

Thank you for your kind words about the staff, they are always thrilled to receive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Enjoyed this small sealife centre at the end of the north Bay Area. Was easily accessible for our disabled son and he was able to view all the available animals. A visit also enabled a reduced visit to the pirate mini golf attached which we didn't have time to do

Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hi Paul

Many thanks for your review.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing