We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #13 of 86 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New 2017: Octopus Hideout! Meet Babs, our Giant Pacific Octopus and her 8 armed friends in our incredible new feature opening this February Half Term. Now Open: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their babbling waterfall! Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We and our 3 year old had a great time at Sealife. The staff we spoke to were all really helpful and knowledgeable about the exhibits.
My only complaint is the cafe which lets it down. We'd have stayed longer but we had to leave to have lunch. The cafe seating area is frankly disgusting. Sticky uncleared tables full of used cups and empty crisp packets meant we would have been unlikely to eat there anyway even if it hadn't been for the poor choice of food and high prices. Really lets down an attraction of this standard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Sarahford

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review.

Its FIN-TASTIC to hear you had a great day at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary!

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    667
    486
    252
    145
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A very good afternoon”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

An interesting afternoon was spent here. There is a fairly extensive collection of sea life here. The underwater viewing tunnel and windows give a good view of life underwater. The seals were a favorite with the grand kids. We missed the touch tank talk but did get to touch a crab on the exit.
The jelly fish were fascinating as were the sea horses. This is only a smallish place so don't expect to be entertained all day. Keep a look out for vouchers to reduce the entrance cost.

We paid a visit to the cafe whilst here and I was a bit disappointed here. The service was slow. The food was just average in my opinion. The "latticed" deep fried potato was I though disgusting but another adult member of group thought they were good. Just goes to show it's all about personal preferences. The staff were friendly and they did seem to be doing everything from cooking (judging by what they were wearing) to serving at the till,to waiting on tables and clearing up.
Overall a decent enough visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Chump57

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

We are thrilled to hear you found your visit interesting and that your children found the Seals to be their favorite animal - they really are amazing creatures!

We hope you visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting but expensive”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The displays of fish were really interesting, especially the jellyfish. Also the information about sea life conservation was very good. However I thought that the cost of entry was quite high. Fortunately we had picked up a 50% off voucher or as 3 adults we would have had to pay £16 each to go in. If you had a family that would also be very expensive even though they did have special family admission tickets. Also the car park charges outside do not encourage you to linger. I know it costs to run a zoo or sea life centre, but the expense would discourage people

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cheshirebabyboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi CheshireBabyBoo

Thanks for taking the time to review Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

We are thrilled to hear you found the center interesting and our conservation message good. It is after all our number one priority to protect the amazing marine creatures we have.

It disappoints me you have rated our site due to it being expensive as you state you used a 50% off voucher which allows entry for just £8.10pp.

It costs over £2000 to rehabilitate one injured seal and that the admission cost goes towards covering these costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“sealife centre”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

visted there in March 2014 great sealife centre, made even better value as I visited using my Merlin pass with my family, kids love it all there but love this one for the seals and the penguins.

great value family place

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OldhamRoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi OldhamRoobear

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review.

We are so glad to hear you loved your time at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Check the closing times!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We arrived at 2.50pm.and were unaware and were not informed that the sanctuary closed at 4.pm. and the restaurant at 3.30pm. We had barely time to skip through the attractions, no time for a coffee or to browse in the gift shop. Outdoor amenities, i.e., teas and ice creams were closed as were other activities. We found that it is not pushchair friendly and we struggled in a few areas as there was no one to ask for help. Although the sanctuary is a wonderful place to visit, on this occasion I feel that we didn't get a fair deal, and left feeling disappointed and out of pocket.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Brendan

Many thanks for taking the time to review Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

I'm disappointed to hear you didn't check the opening times as they are listed online on our website and in the window of the center.

We do tell all guests and it states on our website that we are not a pushchair friendly venue and ask guests with children old enough to be carried or walk to leave their buggies in the buggy park to make the experience better for everyone.

We are so pleased to hear you found the center wonderful but disappointed you feel we are only a two star venue. We hope you visit again in the future and leave plenty of time to enjoy the center in full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing