We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.65*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #13 of 88 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Took my daughter here she did enjoy it however it cost £29 for 3 of us this was including using a 40% off voucher and lasted about an hour there's not much to see and cafe is expensive too! I found the visit expensive for what it was and will not be revisiting!

1  Thank LNewton83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi LNewton

Thank you for your review.

I am thrilled to hear that your daughter enjoyed her visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary! We are dedicated to providing magical and memorable experiences to all our visitors but especially our youngest ones.

It's sad to hear that you feel a visit to our attraction would be complete in an hour. We have over 50 displays of marine life at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and offer regular talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day as well as a hands-on rockpool experience and a quiz trail.

Our admission price does reflect the conservation work we carry out and we are grateful for your support.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission price you paid on the day of your visit was expensive. Using a 40% off voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £9.72. This is cheaper than The Deep who charge £10.75 per person.

We also feel our creature variety including seals, penguins and otters offers more than other similar attractions.

We hope you visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,938 - 1,942 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great day out in Scarborough visiting this sealife centre not only telling the story of local sea life but the wider picture of the history of this area and caring for its natural habitat. Kids and big kids will all enjoy this. Sharks and all.

Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi Mavericktopgun

Thank you for your kind review of the Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

I am so pleased that the big kids and the little ones all enjoyed their day out!

Our dedicated staff love telling the stories of the animals in our care, and as a conservation sanctuary we are constantly getting new animals and new stores, so make sure you visit again soon!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

There's a great selection of wildlife and the staff are helpful, friendly and informative. You can also adopt seals, penguins etc for additional charge - perfect if you have a penguin obsessed child like I do!

Thank Salwal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi Salwal

It's fantastic to hear you had a great visit to SEA LIFE!

The Penguins sure love the younger visitors! So much, Piglet has got herself a twitter account to keep in touch with her visitors!

See our twitter for a link to Piglet and your daughter can get regular updates from the Penguin Pool!

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a lovely afternoon. We took part in a few of the talks and a rock pool touch session which only served to increase our enjoyment of our visit.
We did have a voucher for half price entry for 5 of our party which was very welcome and made it good value for money, but we all had a lovely few hours wandering around.

Thank mousehole539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi mousehole

Thanks so much for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you had a lovely afternoon learning about our fantastic animals.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Take my advice do not go but , if you must , buy your tickets in advance over the internet - they work out about half price that way .

Why do I say do not go ? A number of reasons :

1. Even at half the published price its overpriced .
2. Its poorly laid out and the signposting is either non-existent or confusing .
3. The place is in desperate need of renovation .
4. Its not wheelchair or pushchair friendly ( although there is a lift for wheelchairs only to the restaurant ) .
5. The walkthrough area , where the fish swim over your head , is so small that with 4 strides you are through it .
6. The area where the penguins are and the area where the seals are both very small - particularly the penguin area .
7. You will be through the place in less than an hour .

A major disappointment for all the family - grandparents , parents and grandchildren .
PS We went in January 2014 .

Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hi Roger

Thank you for your review.

We are very upset that you found your trip to the Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary so disappointing.

At Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, we aim to offer good value for money to all of our guests. Our pricing structure reflects the amount of conservation and rescue work we carry out at the centre. At present, it costs approximately £2,000 to rescue, rehabilitate and release an injured seal pup. Since November we have helped 15 seals and rescued numerous sea birds following the recent bad weather. We are grateful that our guests can help us do this.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission price you paid on the day of your visit was expensive. Using a 2 for 1 voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10. This is cheaper than The Deep who charge £10.75 per person.

We also feel our creature variety including seals, penguins and otters offers more than other similar attractions. The penguin enclosure is actually set by Zoo standards which is why we are only allowed to accomodate 12 penguins.

We are sorry that you found the centre confusing, we do offer maps out with every leaflet and the staff would be more than happy to help anyone who asked for assistance.

It's also sad to hear that you feel a visit to our attraction would be complete in an hour. We have over 50 displays of marine life at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and offer regular talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day as well as a hands-on rockpool experience and a quiz trail.

Regarding being pushchair accessible, we do tell guests this as they enter the centre and request they leave their buggies in the buggy park. As you can probably imagine, a centre full of buggies could result in very cramp conditions, which is why we ask guests to walk around with their little ones.

Many thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing