We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Busy in the Summer”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Busy in the Summer”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We tried twice to visit and got in on the 3rd attempt! It's extremely busy over summer and you wont get on the car park - use the train and the queues are massive! My best advice is to go about 4pm where you can get around and see the animals and fish much more easily - make sure you get vouchers which are available with money off from local buses and hotels. We used one from a car park ticket from Whitby that gave us 50% off so we paid about £8.00 each which i would say is worth it for whats on offer. You can get up really close to the seals as well which is quite unique.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank delzscfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The popularity of Sea Life Centres does result in their being busy at peak times and we agree with your comments that visiting outside of the busy periods does offer the opportunity to move more freely throughout the displays.

I am pleased that you managed to eventually get to visit our aquarium and found that we offered a unique experience where you can get up close to our animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    694
    496
    260
    151
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday visit”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Though very expensive. Although I had a voucher for 2 for the price of 1, it was still over £16 entry fee for myself and my 6 year old daughter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MRB0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry you felt your experience did not represent good value. We monitor guest perception on this issue very closely and happily the vast majority believe they get excellent value for money. We also take into consideration the prices charged by competitors, both in the aquarium sector and in other leisure attractions, and are confident our pricing, given the quality of our offering, is extremely competitive. One factor which may have a bearing is the time taken to investigate each of our displays. Sea creatures seldom line up to be admired of course, and those who derive most from a visit to Sea Life are invariably those who linger at each display and make sure they see everything, if necessary asking one of our friendly staff to help point out the more elusive creatures and explain some of their fascinating features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishy friends”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The SEA LIFE sanctuary was really good. There was plenty to see and do. Children get an activity pack to take round with them which I thought was good. It can be quite expensive to get in if you don't have a voucher of some kind.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you found there was plenty to see and do on your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very small waste of money”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After the long walk to get there from central scarborough along the coastal road we were disgusted by the admission price for such a small place were just glad we had bogof vouchers as there are much bigger sea life centres elsewhere. The place full of screaming kids that have no interest in the fish. The place is one where you go once but dont go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren21113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you felt your visit did not live up to expectation.

The attraction is compact by comparison with some, but we believe the ingenuity of its design and layout has enabled us to maximize the space and provide a substantial and absorbing experience for anyone willing to take the time to investigate thoroughly. We feature in the region of 2,000 sea creatures of more than 100 species, and the quality of the environs we provide both inside and outside the tanks is, we believe, second to none. But it takes more than a cursory glance to spot all our fishy residents and to appreciate their finer qualities. That is why we have friendly staff on duty to help point out the more elusive creatures, and provide a deeper insight into their fascinating lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasent place to visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Sealife is a great place to go if its sunny or rainy. Wife and I particularly like to see the seals, and the ray tank. Your so close up to the action. The animals are obviously well cared for, and the staff are freindly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevnJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you find our centre offers a good place to visit whether it is rainy or sunny and that you particulary like our seal and ray displays.

Thank you for your comments regarding our team and commitment to caring for our creatures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing