We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #15 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well laid out areas and plenty of signs to put you in the right direction. Knowledgeable staff who were passionate about there charges.

Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.
It's great to hear that you found our team members knowledgeable and passionate - conservation is at the heart of everything we do at SEA LIFE and we thank you for recongnising that. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,367)
There are newer reviews for Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,032 - 2,036 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

It does what it says on the tin! Very pricey without half price vouchers though! We only go when it is sunny as it is too busy when it's raining.

Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank yor for taking the time to offer a review of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary. We appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went on Friday with our 4 year old grandson,originally planning to go to the deep but punned for here,mistake number 1,got a ticket from car park which cost £5 thinking we would be in there quite a while,mistake number 2, even with the 50% off it still cost over £8 each,we walked around and it took just over an hour and that was with going around twice,otters were asleep so never saw them seals hiding so only saw 1, sharks look nice and turtle but after watching them for 20 mins they even get boring,everything was £1 if you wanted to do anything else,so we left paid parking again at north side car park and spent 5 hours on beach and peasholm park,so skip the sealife save your money and head for beach.

Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.
It is disappointing to hear that you feel a visit to our attraction would be complete in an hour. We have over 50 displays of marine life at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and offer regular talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day as well as a hands-on rockpool experience and a quiz trail.
Using a 50% off voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10 which we feel is good value for money. We also feel our creature variety including seals, penguins and otters offers more than other similar attractions.
The car park directly outside the centre is owned and operated by Scarborough Borough Council.
We appreciate all feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I just visited this sea Life last week - very disappointed - Had days out voucher from Tesco which said they would take it only to find out at the counter they stopped doing this voucher recently, had to pay £39.00 for 2 adults and a 4 year old. Very expensive considering we went to The Deep which took our voucher - are cheaper - lot more to do and better displays - my son wanted to play golf and we had to pay a further £6 for this. Restaurant - not a lot of choice at all and the jacket potato looked like it had been standing for ages, salad not very good. My son would not eat it - another rip off. One of the displays leaking - couple of toilets not working. Another £1 for the gold rush game - telescope not working. Not one of the best sea Life centres I have been to - had been looking forward to it as well. Will not be re-visiting.

Thank hepsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to our attraction. We do accept Tesco Clubcard Reward Tokens for pay in full adult and child tickets at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary. Our agreement with Tesco is such that the tickets must represent each person and we are unable to accept any tokens with a monetary value i.e. £10, £20 etc. This is made clear on the Tesco website.
We do encourage our guests to speak with a Duty Manager during the visit if there are any concerns. If you chose not do this, your comments on to the management team. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I visited with my wife and 5 children. If we had paid at the door it would have cost us £95 but we instead, bought them from the Sealife Sanctuary website. It cost us just £55 and the good thing is that you choose a date on the form and can visit the place anytime from that date to a week afterwards. Only the once though but it did help us as we first got there at 10.30am but the queue was huge. We decided to come back next day and arrive 10 mins before opening at 9.50am. This meant we were at the front of the queue. A friend joined the queue only 15 minutes later and had an hour wait to get in. So, the big tip is to get there early.

It was our second visit here as we visited last year, so we knew what to expect. We took our time to appreciate all the diverse and amazing creatures. My advice, take your time and don'
t rush around. The place is far from huge and if you basically glance at every creature and move on then you're going to leave very early. My kids loved seeing these creatures close up. We also got to see a seal that was only just rescued nearby. It was to be released in a couple of weeks after recuperation. Good work guys!

There is a buggy bay area inside the gift shop. I noticed someone left a bad review recently regarding the lack of a buggy bay but there is a sign and it's also very easy to ask a member of staff for the exact location. Tip: Do not take your buggy around the place. Use a baby sling instead as it can get quite crowded. Also, don't let your kids rush ahead. This could make the trip go by far too quickly.

There is a cafe at the end with a soft play area for the little ones. The cafe is a little on the expensive side and small but it's clean.

Twice we have been here and we will be back again next year. Remember, book tickets online to save around 40 percent of the price.

Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello. Thank you for your feedback and kind comments about our team and the conservation work we carry out here at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
It's great to hear that you took advantage of booking your tickets in advance via our website to make savings on your admission price. Your advice to other travellers about taking time to walk around our displays is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the centre in future. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing