We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but quite small”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 86 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, but quite small”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I thought that the attraction was quite good, but rather small for the price, and only a couple of hours is required to experience everything. I found the otters quite engaging and worth spending a little time with. There is plenty of information about the animals which might be particularly helpful for school children.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ww33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and found our otters, Eric and Pumpkin, fun to watch.
We are passionate about sea creatures and are dedicated to ensuring all of our guests leave our centre having had a good time and also armed with a fishy fact or two.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    669
    488
    252
    145
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Visited with husband, 3yr old son and 6month daughter. We were already in Scarborough but so cold thought we'd visit as was something we'd talked about. Paid just short of £40 for 2adults and 3 yr old. What a rip off. Trying to get thru was difficult, walkways very small and we had pram added to this (as did other families). Tanks all seemed small, the tunnel was blink and miss it. Even my son wasn't that impressed. Otters were no where to be seen, penguins looked miserable. Great to see turtle but seemed to be cramped conditions. Terrible, disappointing visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am disappointed to hear that you felt you did not get the experience you had hoped for on your recent visit to our centre.
With the age and design of the building, we do recommend that pushchairs are left in the designated "buggy park". This also allows children to get closer to our tanks and see the creatures up close.
Animal welfare is a top priority for us and we ensure that all of our tanks and displays are suitable for the type of creature living in them.
We would encourage all guests to speak with a Duty Manager on the day of their visit if for some reason they were dissatisfied. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please get in touch via slcscarborough@merlinentertainments.biz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting visit although over priced”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The centre is over priced but look out for the offers in the area, we picked up a 2 for 1 offer making it a more reasonable visit. Lots of different types of sea life to see and all seemed well looked after. I only wish it had been a bit warmer when we visited as it was freezing when we tried to listen to the otter talk. Was lovely to see the seals and penguins swimming around. Overall we had an enjoyable time here.

Helpful?
1 Thank EmJay78S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our centre and braved the cold weather to visit our sanctuary animals outdoors.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sea Life Centre, Scarborough”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The ticket prices are expensive & would be a costly family day out. Although, it would be tough to spend all day there as there isn't enough to keep you occupied for any longer than 2-3 hours. The facilities are not very nice to use either. Would not recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu8847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am disappointed to hear that you felt there was not enough to keep you occupied on your recent visit to our centre. There are over 50 displays of marine life to see including seals, otters and penguins as well as a variety of creatures in the main aquarium. We also host regular talks and feeding demonstrations throughout the day and encourage our guests to go along to these to find out more about the animals and conservation issues. We appreciate all feedback. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please get in touch via slcscarborough@merlinentertainments.biz
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Get a half price deal...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I love the sea life centre and visit a couple of times a year. There is always something to see and I can watch the seahorses and spider crabs for ages. There are a greater number of fish here than you would expect. Having been to visit aquariums in Osaka (my favourite) and Sydney as well as others, Scarborough does pretty well on limited resources. It is small but they have some great creatures to see. The jellyfish are good and the open pool with skates, rays and other sea fish is good. It is a bit pricey but if you look round locally you can pick up vouchers...
Kids love it and there are usually some seals in the sanctuary...
worth a trip...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Public Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you are a regular visitor and that your children enjoy a trip to our centre. It is important to us that we deliver memorable experiences and that everyone leaves armed with a fishy fact or two. We hope you can visit again this year to see our new feature attraction CLAWS! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing