We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sea life centre”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.51*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #13 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staff very knowledgable with interesting talks. Make sure you use free entry vouchers if you have any as not cheap.

Thank SARAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,199 - 2,203 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

When we went,some of the displays were closed and this meant, as we had a wheelchair we couldn't go all the way round. We did receive a reduction but that deterred from our enjoyment.
Unfortunately have been to a few sealife type centres before, which meant I was a bit disappointed at what was on veiw

Thank Robbie264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Even with two buy one get one free vouchers it cost us £30.00 for 2 adults and 3 children (age 9yo, 6yo and 10 months.) As we entered we were asked if we would like a photo but were not told it would cost £12.00 (did not buy it) It is almost impossible to get around with a pushchair there are stairs everywere (it would be helpful if there was some access ramps or lifts). Don't use the cafe, very very expensive.
All in all a very disappointing day. Suggest that visitors try the museums better value for money.

Thank glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is located a bit far out from the rest of Scarborough, but there was plenty of car parking space so it wasn't much of an issue. The centre had a good hour or two of exhibits to walk around. Just a little steep price wise for what was there.

Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We decided to visit as we were in Scarborough for a couple of days and had 2 for 1 vouchers from The Sun newspaper. Unfortunately they would not let us use these with the over 60's concession so in the end we did not save much. If we had realised it was going to be so expensive, we would not have gone in. There were no seals there so we were given £5 off our next visit, but as we are not local to Scarborough we will not get the chance to go back. I was expecting something like Sea World in Florida but this is nothing like it. It is very small and you could easily see everything within an hour, although we did go to some of the talks given at feeding times and these were interesting. We liked the look of the Crazy Golf but did not play, partly because there was no attendant on duty, and also because the cost is not included in the price of the day ticket and we were not willing to pay even more. Overall, we found our visit very disappointing.

Thank Sue99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing