We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but great attraction”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.72*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #26 of 89 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have been to another Sea Life before in Birmingham, and have to say this is far better than Birmingham.

My son particularly enjoyed the outside animals - the seals, otters and penguins and really enjoyed the talks about the otters and seals, and seeing them fed.

There was an excellent range of marine life too, with great interactive tools along with child friendly viewing areas and questions around the centre which when completed result in getting a medal.

The restaurant range is poor though and pricey.

The attraction though is very good - we spent just short of 2 hours here and could have happily spent longer.

If you can look out for one of the Merlin 2 for 1 offers this is worth taking advantage of.

Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"octopus"
in 78 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 62 reviews
"seal hospital"
in 52 reviews
"penguin walk"
in 36 reviews
"otters and seals"
in 33 reviews
"sealife centres"
in 31 reviews
"pirate golf"
in 32 reviews
"booked online"
in 73 reviews
"feeding times"
in 54 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 127 reviews
"rainy day"
in 78 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 78 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 29 reviews
"north bay"
in 40 reviews
"talks"
in 270 reviews
"voucher"
in 367 reviews
"conservation"
in 52 reviews
Filter

2,433 - 2,437 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited with my two children, aged 9 and 6 years respectively on a cold November day. Out of season parking was free, bonus already. I would recommend buying a Merlin Pass because kids then get in free (check out what attractions you are close to before buying though or see which ones you can comfortably visit). Both my children have passes so I only had to pay for me, not cheap but worth every penny.

Great Aquarium with the, now almost required, glass tunnel under the sea walk. This was our second visit here and the 'tasks' for children to complete had changed so plenty to look out for from an educational point of view. The centre has some great exhibits to see and learn about.

The cafe/restaurant appears expensive but the portions are huge so it is actually good value, good coffee too!!

I would recommend this as a place to visit and repeat visits are always different as things change over the year.

1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

not been to something lke this since i was a kid but i am glad to see things have got more interesting...staff engaged the kids all afternoon with talks, feeding and games /quizes.

Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

1st impressions.HOW MUCH.???!!!! Luckily we had bogof voucher from our hotel.too expensive for families. really enjoyedthe penguin talk/feeding.great info. it was quite busy so took time to get to see some tanks. good job really otherwise it would have felt like a rip off.

Thank Boldybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We purchased tickets online thinking we would save some money. When we arrived at our B&B they had vouchers offering 2 for 1. On arriving at Sea Life center and meeting our family we then were surprised to pay parking charges for two cars. On questioning the cashier at Sea life about the vouchers, she said we could try and get our money back but, the online payment site was nothing to do with them.... Although our granddaughter enjoyed the visit. The whole experience was not a good
advert for Scarborough.

2  Thank marymcd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2016

Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing