We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day out but pricey without a discount !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 80 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New 2017: Octopus Hideout! Meet Babs, our Giant Pacific Octopus and her 8 armed friends in our incredible new feature opening this February Half Term. Now Open: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their babbling waterfall! Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
Yarm on Tees UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A great day out but pricey without a discount !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited on a rainy weekend day and were impressed with this centre and its very helpful, friendly staff.
The location is excellent - but you do have to pay for the public car park. However as the centre is by the sea you can increase your visit with time on the beach or walking the promenade or visiting Scarborough's other many amenities.
Tried to get the online discount but not able to get tickets on the day so had to pay full price - was expensive but still reasonable value for an interesting and information packed visit.
Our granddaughter (6) loved watching the penguins being fed and the otters who were sleeping and out of sight first time round but had woken and were active when we went later to see if they were out.
The jellyfish tanks were fascinating and sea horses also impressed - particularly the dragon.
Bit disappointed with the cafe - busy and noisy when we were there - not too badly priced but not very interesting choice.
Your ticket allows a revisit on the same day and next time we go we will set off earlier and return to the centre after spending time on the beach.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    608
    447
    228
    140
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moreton In Marsh
Level Contributor
154 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We visited Scarborough on Saturday 12th May, weather was just right and the staff were able to inform you of all that was on display, there is a chair lift for disabled visitors to be able to reach both levels, only moan is the covering of safety panels or placing of fish globes, as a disabled person does not get full view of some things to see, food venue is good and reasonably priced, there was a rescued seal in the holding bays, we hope it will get well enough to be released soon, highlight of the day was the otters and how they shouted when it was coming up to feeding time, their antics were very funny, good crazy golf on site. Good day out had by all. Find out on their website what offers there are for entry to here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good for children.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our trip here, there was lots to see and do for the kids. Much better than most aquariums.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank emmaelaine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very good, penguins were cute. We also played crazy gold and that was excellent and was made an adventure going around the course.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tabletennisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable day out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

A pleasant, family friendly excursion that reminds us of the variety of life on our planet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing