We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 86 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
hull
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

very friendly educational and enjoyable for adults and children alike would go again

Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    669
    488
    252
    145
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was a school holiday in the rain day out - what a shame.
I had no vouchers, so had to pay full for me and 3 boys.
Ouch
We had to wait for 20 minutes to get in, not that much to see and boys lost interest half way through the talks.
Such a shame really - I understand this is a chain, but the venue is not the best, the cafe is overpriced and there's not that much to see.
Could be so much more

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank clare i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 8, 2016
Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok for a couple of hours”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very expensive even with the vouchers from hotel, staff not very helpful... if you can find them... been to the other Sea Life centres and this is a better one just the price!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dazman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 8, 2016
Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great for kids - the staff were fantastic. Very busy though!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive day out and doesn't fill up much time”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We visited the sealife centre, Scarborough as we were staying in the area and thought that it would be an interesting day out. Parts were really interesting and others were really dull, not a great deal of information around so we didn't take too long to get round it. Our son was bored to tears and having sensory difficulties found it really hard to get through the opening to the jellyfish area right at the start as he hated the touch of it and ended up having a meltdown before we even got started. The food and drinks in cafe were ridiculously priced so weren't really surprised when there weren't many people eating/drinking there. Overall it was an ok day out - nothing great but nothing really bad other than the prices!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank radsimkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 8, 2016
Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing