We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a wet day”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #14 of 87 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for a wet day”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Ok for a wet day but gets very busy, everyone else has the same idea! Plenty of special discount vouchers around Scarborough but ask at till for best voucher to use because you can only use one per visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Christa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    694
    496
    260
    151
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, South Yorkhire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bit grubby and not very impressive”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Not overly impressed. I didn't like the seal rescue bit, although I'm sure they were fine. Watching them laying there covered in their own poo was unpleasant. The luminous jellyfish were good. The kids liked it and that's the important thing but the cost - what a rip off. Massive queue to get in (it was raining) but they did give out free rain poncho things and sweets for the children which was a nice touch. They can afford it though, at those prices!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank FayeMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 8, 2016
Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not a full day out but remember your discount ticket or else!”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

well we have been here the last time we visited scarboroug coast. my youngest was only 3 and so wanted to return this time to see it . we had got the train from peasholme and so you could get £3 off each person or i had 2 for 1 tickets. it was gona be a lot if you didnt have a 2 for 1 ticket. if they can do it for that price then maybe fjust charge that anyway with a voucher !! £15 an adult £11.40 a child ?! seriously too much in my opinion! we paid for the golf aswell which is a really nice course . £2.90 each . we did however see the otters which we thought were a myth as we have yet to see tehm anywhere weve been to sealife ! i had a spare ticket whic i gave to a lady who didnt have one and she was very greatful !! we saw the sealions being fed , otters being fed and all the usual stuff. lke i said in my title not really a whole day out but a long morning an you have to pay for the car park too if u drive so maybe try the train if you can from peasholme park . i must add that actuallythey tried hard wit the food there it wasnt just chips !!!! it was baguette deals with salad and crisps, ribs and jackets potatoes or lattices fries, fruit, and then the usual stuff but it was all looking and fresh! well done for that . £4.95 for a baguette meal . not that bad .

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Rubbish.”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Very expensive,50 quid for a family of four to see a sea turtle and half a dozen penguins.waste of money.

Helpful?
Thank Iancadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 8, 2016
Dear guest
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback surrounding Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary.
Regards
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We spent an enjoyable morning here. It is quite pricey so look for vouchers or two for one offers. If you have young children it is a good idea to get there early so that it isn't too busy as they may be in danger of being trampled underfoot when it is.

The cafe was reasonably priced for drinks.

We found the staff friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank mgsm1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor!
We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts following your visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary as we always consider any feedback that helps us to improve the service we provide for our guests.
Kind Regards,
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing