We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #16 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Spent a two night weekend here in August 2007and enjoyed it very much.

We had one of the cheapest rooms but it was of a good size, very comfortable and tastefully furnished to a high standard with a flat screen TV and DVD in the room. Being a back room , we had no view, but the view from the front rooms (and the lounge) was enviable. The bathroom was small but very nicely appointed. Shared areas of the hotel are very nicely appointed.

The hotel is on the main clifftop walk with a vew across to a park and, behind that , the sea.

The walk into town was very pleasant - along an elevated promenade and then down a slope or steps onto a pedestrian bridge into the heart of town - although some less mobile folk might prefer the alternative cliff railway (within a couple of hundred yards of the hotel which leads right down to beach promenade level (70p a go or £7 for the week). About 15 minutes to the beach or town centre.

Scarborough itself is a true gem - a mix of superb beach, classic English seaside tat (if you want to seek it out), truly beautiful classic Regency and Victorian architecture (around the area where the hotel is) and a modern fully appointed shopping centre - all very separate but all within easy walking distance of one another.

Didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast, which was served by a trio of slightly disorganised, but very friendly staff and was was tasty and enjoyable without being exciting.

Would heartily recommend the Mansion House as a base for exploring all the aspects of Scarborough, and would also heartily endorse Scarborough as both a place to stay and a base to explore from.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank robini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 640 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2007

This was our second visit to the hotel, a recommendation in itself as it was our place of choice on return to Scarborough.

We were again made to feel very welcome and our premier room with a superb view was clean, spacious and comfortable. The en-suite area was small, however we would book the same room again.

The standard of service and food was excellent and it would be impossible to find a comparable evening meal at an external restaurant for the price paid. A special dietary requirement was handled in a very reassuring way. No evening meal was available on the Tuesday evening which we were aware of before arriving.

On both occasions we were able to park without restriction and charge almost directly outside the hotel.

The hotel is beautifully appointed and tastefully decorated and has a very peaceful atmosphere.

We look forward to being able to visit again.

David & Angela

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ilovekiefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pastor_AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank louis_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $111 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing