We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #18 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Having read other reviews we booked for a weekend break and were not disappointed. We arrived later than usual and were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who let us settle in and then served us with a welcoming drink. (Nice touch).
This hotel is clean and well presented, the staff are discreet but friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
We stayed in room 18 at the top of the building with stunning views of the South Bay. On booking we were asked if we would be okay with the stairs as there is no lift. It is a trek to get to the top floor but well worth it, the room is comfortable with two chairs and a table by the window allowing you to rest and take in the panoramic view. The bathroom is small and if I were the owner I would remove the cabinet on the wall (which I bumped into a few times) but that was a minor obstacle. Excellent breakfast in the morning with your room number on your table so no problems hovering and wondering where to sit. We are regular visitors to Scarborough and my only gripe is that we have not stayed here before, looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor for great views but only if you are good with stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bshawManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Mansion House Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 633 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked via a on-line voucher, and had originally planned to visit over Valentine's day, as an anniversary break for myself and my fiancée, but had to re-book towards the end of May due to work commitments, which the hotel was happy to do.

Upon arrival on Sunday, a very friendly member of staff greeted us, and there was a box of chocolates that was in the original offer in our room, and a promise of a "drink of fizz" when we were ready.

Although the rooms are quite compact, there is everything you need, and the beds are really comfy, and the rooms are always well turned out.

We had to leave very early Tuesday morning, before breakfast was available, to travel to attend a funeral, and the staff were really helpful, and went out of their way in providing us with a continental breakfast and sandwiches in a fridge, so we could have something to eat before we left.

Words are not enough to describe what the personal touch of the staff here means to it's customers, and we will be booking again next Valentines...

Room Tip: If you're lucky to get a seaview, the front rooms on the 1st floor have an excellent view to wak...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned fro a bank holiday saturday night in the lovely Mansion House Hotel in Scarborough. It is always a pleasure to stay somewhere where the whole ethos is to try and please. I have given it 4 out of 5 stars only because I have paid top book £100 + for a very small room indeed. But otherwise it was clean, pretty and does what it says on the tin. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast is top notch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked via late rooms having read other reviews.
Great location with free parking. Very impressive building & well presented interior.
We had a double room which was quite compact but also had use of an adjoining single room which meant we had 2 bathrooms & some extra space.
Bathrooms had nice toiletries with good water pressure (we were on the 3rd floor) and lots of hot water.
Really good breakfast served til 10am.
Surprised so many have commented on the stairs as what did they expect? We were a bit out of puff carrying the bags up but that is because we are lazy & we can't hold the design of what really is a beautiful building responsible for that :)
I would definitely recommend this B&B & would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiPoPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you both very much for staying with us at the Mansion House Scarborough it was very nice to meet you both. This building and location is superbly positioned right on South Cliff with fantastic views over the bay but still close to all the amenities. All the staff look forward to welcoming you back again to this lovely property and thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a lovely place to stay and in a great location, is immaculately clean both inside and out plus room was well equipped for all our needs, The staff appeared more like friends who could not do enough to make our stay the best ever.The breakfasts are superb, the staff work very hard to please everyone so well done to you all and Louise. We will certainly return again and again. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Get booking now!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neddy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and for staying with us at the Mansion House Scarborough. All the staff take great pride in trying the best for our valued guests as we have a very high return rate and it is so nice to see so many friendly faces returning to this lovely area of Scarborough. We are most grateful for your lovely comments and the staff really appreciate recognition for their hard work and we look forward to seeing you both once again soon at the Mansion House Scarborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel twice now and both times have found it to be excellent with fantastic service. It has everything we could need and is a short walk into the centre of Scarborough.

On our final morning we had to set off very early and the hotel provided us with breakfast which they left in the fridge in the lounge for us to collect before we left - cereal, juice, sandwiches. Nothing was too much trouble.

We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie_Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, this was a trip we were going to have, prior to our son being born, as a sort of "last break as a couple ", but the snow in Feb put paid to that, and we had to cancel. However, for a booking fee of just ten pounds, we were allowed to defer it anytime before June. Our son arrived, and we set a weekend to cone, but snow was again forecast! We finally arrived with our eleven week old. We had been put on standby for the family room on the ground floor, but they could not oblige, so we end up six flights of stairs into what was a spacious family room. It was roasting up there, again no fault of the owners, and no cot gad been set up. One was quickly brought up, but neither the maid or myself could put it up correctly, so the first night our son was in a part collapsed cot. We were told the second cot was in a much worse condition!
I found the bed comfy, but my partner switched beds in the night, saying she could feel wooden slats through it. That gave me more space so I was fine!
Going down to breakfast, in the basement ( another flight of stairs!) we were warmly and efficiently greeted. The experience here on in was amazing. Fab service, totally delicious choice and food, pleasant people, all great.
We had been embarrassed at the state the room was in after the first night and were reluctant to let the staff in to see it. But in they cane in our absence and wonderfully tidied up our space for us to create chaos for another night!
I write this at 6am, thanks to someone wanting a feed, so not yet had our final breakfast here. I cant think we will be disappointed.
The room had great amenities: large flatscreen tv, gorgeous hot, fast walk-in shower, small fridge, tea n coffee facilities, plenty drawers and a large wardrobe.
In summary, we highly recommend the place with a few provisos: remember; no lift, lots of stairs. If you have a baby, definitely only book for the downstairs family room. Take your own cot or owners, can you have two decent ones available and staff who know how to erect them? (It was up fine the second night!) great food, room, people and area if Scarborough, which faces an Italian garden with the friendliest squirrels ever!

Room Tip: Families, try for room number one. If offered number 20, bear in mind it is up six flights, totallin...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webtreacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Sir, Firstly can I thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Mansion House Scarborough. I do apologise for the small problem with the cot. The travel costs which are all new are usually erected by the Housekeepers, unfortunately on this occasion this was not the case. The young receptionist was a little flustered as you may well know these cots can be a little fiddly and our receptionists is not of the age when putting together these items becomes second nature. Please be assured she has now been trained so there will not be a problem for any future visit. We normally charge a £10 administrative fee for any changes to a booking we have waived this fee. We do hope to see your family again at this beautiful location on the Yorkshire Coast and we do have lower family rooms but these have to be booked early as they are very popular. Once again thank you to you and your family for staying with us and all the staff look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Mansion House Scarborough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,907 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $114 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing