We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
524
129
32
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
524
129
32
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary glass of winehonesty barno liftsea viewcomplimentary drink on arrivalmini bartop floorbreakfast was excellentdvd playerdressing gownssmall hotelfull englishwarm welcomewalk into towncooked freshflights of stairsbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 702 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Manson House for one night on Saturday 21st January 2012. The reviews we had read had been good so we were very disapointed with the extremely small double room we had been allocated. It was at the rear with no outlook whatsoever and had very little natural daylight even on a bright day. There was also a connecting door to the adjoining room which meant that every sound could be heard. The en-suite was also tiny with hardly room to turn around in the shower. Although the cleanliness was good, breakfast was only average, we have had far better elsewhere. We left feeling that at £88.00 for this particular room we had been overcharged and will not return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

A lovely small hotel. Very nice room with a huge bay window and superb sea view across the bay. Some nice touches, such as dressing gowns and mini bar with good selection of drinks in the room. The honesty bar and newspapers in the downstairs lounge were very welcome additions. Friendly helpful staff and an excellent full English breakfast for those with a hearty appetite. Would stay again whenever visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

superb staff and food.
but the lack of an adequate fire escape is is frightening.
the rooms are very clean but small.
we booked for 2 nights around november time i think and we where allocated a small sea view room on the second floor. when I saw the fire escape route I did not want to stay there.
1 flight of stairs right up 4 floors.
to the rear side of this building is a derelect fire escape it should be brought up to standard.

Room Tip: as close to the ground floor as possible.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkShooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us at the Mansion House.Scarborough. I am sorry that you stated that the sea view room was small but the room you stayed in is advertised as a small sea view room and that is why it is cheaper than the much larger sea view rooms which were also available. You are correct to identify the Fire Escape as not in use it has been out of service for some considerable time. Instead we have installed a fire protection lining on the stairway walls throughout the property supported by a comprehensive fire alarm system. Other than the kitchen there are no naked flames within the property and smoking is also prohibited, furthermore, like all Hotels and Guest Houses the Mansion House is inspected annually by the Fire Dept and we have received an excellent rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have stayed at the Mansion House in Scarborough twice now and each time have thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We have the same room overlooking the bay up just one flight of stairs (there is no lift to the upper floors). Nice clean room, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the breakfast is as good as it gets. Would recommend this small hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The room we choose is No.5 which is only one flight of stairs but maybe the upper rooms could be too many stairs for less able bodied residents. No.5 is a generous double overlooking the bay and gardens. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments and also for sharing them with others. Room 5 is always very popular with our guests as it has one of the best views in Scarborough. We take great care over our breakfast service and we have a great selection so thank you for confirming that it retains its high standard. It was very nice to see you both and thank you very much for choosing the Mansion House Scarborough for your stay. once again.

May all of the staff take the opportunity of wishing you a very Happy Christmas and we all look forward to seeing you in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed 2 nights 27th Nov- 28th Nov

Could not fault this hotel. The staff were friendly and we were made to feel welcome. The complimentary drink on arrival was a really nice touch
The room was spotless, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was excellent as was the service.
We had some great views of the bay from our window. The Hotel was within easy walking distance of the Bay and the old town.
Would highly recommend and would definately return.

Room Tip: It's well worth the extra for a top room with fantastic sea views
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and for sharing them with other potential guests. The Mansion House is positioned right on South Cliff so you will get excellent views of the lovely South Bay from all the front sea view rooms. These rooms cost a little extra but they are the most popular and we sell out very quickly. Once again thank you for your generous comments and all the staff at the Mansion House wish you both a very Happy Christmas and we hope to see you again in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews