We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avid Room 7”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #18 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Pola, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avid Room 7”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a night at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and super efficient. The hotel has a fantastic location with incredible views over Scarborough. Public areas in the hotel are very very well maintained. Superb breakfast. We had room 7 which was small and a had a great view of a backyard, the noise from the adjoining bedroom (which luckily had very quiet guests) could be a big problem if the guests in this room were not as respectfull of others.
Would we stay there again, Yes but in a better room.
Room 7 is overpriced at £80...........a tariff closer to £60 would be closer to the mark

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    118
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
340
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grasmere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the Manson House for one night on Saturday 21st January 2012. The reviews we had read had been good so we were very disapointed with the extremely small double room we had been allocated. It was at the rear with no outlook whatsoever and had very little natural daylight even on a bright day. There was also a connecting door to the adjoining room which meant that every sound could be heard. The en-suite was also tiny with hardly room to turn around in the shower. Although the cleanliness was good, breakfast was only average, we have had far better elsewhere. We left feeling that at £88.00 for this particular room we had been overcharged and will not return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

A lovely small hotel. Very nice room with a huge bay window and superb sea view across the bay. Some nice touches, such as dressing gowns and mini bar with good selection of drinks in the room. The honesty bar and newspapers in the downstairs lounge were very welcome additions. Friendly helpful staff and an excellent full English breakfast for those with a hearty appetite. Would stay again whenever visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

superb staff and food.
but the lack of an adequate fire escape is is frightening.
the rooms are very clean but small.
we booked for 2 nights around november time i think and we where allocated a small sea view room on the second floor. when I saw the fire escape route I did not want to stay there.
1 flight of stairs right up 4 floors.
to the rear side of this building is a derelect fire escape it should be brought up to standard.

Room Tip: as close to the ground floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkShooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us at the Mansion House.Scarborough. I am sorry that you stated that the sea view room was small but the room you stayed in is advertised as a small sea view room and that is why it is cheaper than the much larger sea view rooms which were also available. You are correct to identify the Fire Escape as not in use it has been out of service for some considerable time. Instead we have installed a fire protection lining on the stairway walls throughout the property supported by a comprehensive fire alarm system. Other than the kitchen there are no naked flames within the property and smoking is also prohibited, furthermore, like all Hotels and Guest Houses the Mansion House is inspected annually by the Fire Dept and we have received an excellent rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have stayed at the Mansion House in Scarborough twice now and each time have thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We have the same room overlooking the bay up just one flight of stairs (there is no lift to the upper floors). Nice clean room, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the breakfast is as good as it gets. Would recommend this small hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The room we choose is No.5 which is only one flight of stairs but maybe the upper rooms could be too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments and also for sharing them with others. Room 5 is always very popular with our guests as it has one of the best views in Scarborough. We take great care over our breakfast service and we have a great selection so thank you for confirming that it retains its high standard. It was very nice to see you both and thank you very much for choosing the Mansion House Scarborough for your stay. once again.

May all of the staff take the opportunity of wishing you a very Happy Christmas and we all look forward to seeing you in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed 2 nights 27th Nov- 28th Nov

Could not fault this hotel. The staff were friendly and we were made to feel welcome. The complimentary drink on arrival was a really nice touch
The room was spotless, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was excellent as was the service.
We had some great views of the bay from our window. The Hotel was within easy walking distance of the Bay and the old town.
Would highly recommend and would definately return.

Room Tip: It's well worth the extra for a top room with fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon-360dtv, Owner at Mansion House Scarborough, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind comments and for sharing them with other potential guests. The Mansion House is positioned right on South Cliff so you will get excellent views of the lovely South Bay from all the front sea view rooms. These rooms cost a little extra but they are the most popular and we sell out very quickly. Once again thank you for your generous comments and all the staff at the Mansion House wish you both a very Happy Christmas and we hope to see you again in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Firstly, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the complimentary wine was a nice touch and the staff were brilliant. However, we booked a double room, which turned out to be room 7. There was my wife and myself, but only 1 (dining) chair to sit on due to the small size of the room, so we ended up sitting on the bed. Not the end of the world, I know. The advertised DVD was not present. The room was cold when we got there (didn't have that cosy feel) so we turned on the radiator and the room soon warmed up. The radiator was on a timer though, and it turned off sometime during the night, and as the bedding was more suited to summer, we were cold most of the night. Not freezing, but that cold that doesn't quite wake you up enough to do something about it. Most of my breakfast was excellent, but my Lincolnshire sausage wasn't - it was a pre-packed frozen thing. The parking passes for town are a nice touch though. So overall, dissapointed. If the room had been around £60, it would be churlish to complain, but at £90 it was poor value for money. It's a shame as it wouldn't have taken much to rectify these issues. If you can afford it, get a better room and I'm sure you'll have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford. Room 7, advertised as a double, is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chid1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
622 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Property: Mansion House Scarborough
Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing