We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but beware of the room rates and the pool access that isnt!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion House Scarborough
Ranked #16 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but beware of the room rates and the pool access that isnt!”
Reviewed November 6, 2007

My wife and I went up to Scarborough during half term week (October 2007) with our two children, my 8 year old daughter and 5 year old son. We could not get a family room at the Manison House, so we got a Premier Room and a standard double room so that one adult could sleep with one child. We arrived to find that the children were going to be charged the full rate for their stay. The hotel book in each room states that children go half price ONLY if occupying a Family Room with a full paying adult! (beware this!) and they would NOT allow any discount for the children! Most hotels make some sort of discount for the kids but not here! Be aware that this hotel does not take American Express cards and also, beware the description found on some sites about this hotel where it says they have access to a pool a few doors down. When we phoned to book, they told us the pool was closed and this was repeated again when we arrived. Later, we discovered that the pool was actually open - it was the Ambassador Hotel pool some doors down - but that the Mansion House had lost the use of the pool as the agreement had been suspended due to H & S issues (?) Breakfast was very good and the service was satisfactory. Dinner was very nice too but we did find it expensive (you have to remember that this is the UK). Also, be aware that dinner in the hotel is not available on Tuesdays (Chef's night off?) All in all, our stay was fine and comfortable. The hotel rooms have flat-screen digital TV but the showers are exremely cramped if you are a tall person (the disabled Bar built into the shower wall severely restricts movement and makes the shower kind of like a small cupboard!) We did find a very nice curry resturant in the town. Having travelled the world a lot (my wife works for British Airways) this hotel was adequate but in our opinion, it is a Guest House trying to be a luxoury hotel, which I'm afraid it is not. We will not be staying there again. After three telephone conversations, they still refused to give us any discount at all for the children or for not being able to use a pool. On a final note, any cancellation of any booking already made and paid for, results in forfeit of the full fee paid (your only option in the event of a disagreement is to dispute the payment with your credit card company).

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank BAW9DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    117
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
95
339
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed for two nights over a weekend (Sat and Sun) for a short break.
The hotel is very friendly with very helpful staff, and offers good facilities. They have made every effort to make it comfortable with a high standard of furnishings. The rooms were well appointed and the view is spectacular over the South Bay. We were on the third floor (no lift but not a problem for us!). If we visit again (and we would) we would pay a little more for one of the larger rooms - the bedroom was fine but the en suite was rather small (it's a listed building so there's not much that can be done).
It's a 10 to 15 minute walk into the centre of town - again that was OK for us.
Breakfast was fine. We had dinner one night, and although it was OK, we thought just a little overpriced for the choices available.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I stayed here for 6 days with my mother and was very pleased with our stay there. The hotel management and very courteous and helpful and you're in no doubt that this is a well run establishment. I would definitely recommend the hotel for any one looking to stay in Scarborough.

The surprise was that the food in the evening was very good, even though there were relatively few covers. The roast beef on the Sunday was excellent.

The english breakfast was very good, the continental breakfast was ok - I only say this as having stayed in Germany is not quite up to continental standards - but I can't think of anywhere in the UK which is tbh.

The south cliff location is good, although we had the benefit of the car, parking was practically not a problem - though you may need to get a card/pass (I forget the proper expression) if you want to park up on busy afternoons.

The double room was excellent with a good sea/castle view, I'd say the single room was on the first floor was perfectedly serviceable for me - but might be a little small for some tastes.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Liked — Food, location, good management
  • Disliked — Slightly annoying old waitress
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tonylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We have just returned from a Family Re-union in Scarborough which my cousin organised for 30 people.
Mansion House could not have been more helpful rooms beautifully appointed, beds comfortable and the small personal touches appreciated! The only minus point was having to pay for a min of 2 nights, which during school term time was an impossibilty travelling up the A1 on a Friday evening!!!
Lovely stay though - we will be back!!!

Thank you

  • Liked — upgaraded rooms
  • Disliked — No car park
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HolidaygirlinHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed in a delightful family room for 2 nights. A lovely hotel, excellent accommodation (clean, good facilities, nice furniture etc), great food (breakfast excellent), well priced and child friendly. Views from the lounge were spectacular over Scarborough Bay with an easy walk into town or the Spa. Plenty of free parking on the Esplanade. Staff very friendly and helpful - our children (half price meals!) appreciated the free access to internet and largescreen freeview TV in room. All in all, an extremely positive experience that made for a very relaxing weekend for us all. We will definitely use it again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Irish-Abingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2007

To start with it was my first trip away without the parents and so i was a little nervous about everything from travelling to the hotel, but once we arrived at the hotel my nerves were very much eased. Polite, friendly staff made us both feel very welcome from the moment we stepped through the door, and the room was wonderful. A nice, quiet, relaxing atmosphere met you everytime you walked in and made it feel like home. The hotel is situated overlooking the sea and shore and has a spectacular view, its easy to get to and from the centre of town and the sea front. I was expecting a lot from the hotel before i arrived there and it lived up to those expectations spectacularly. A wonderful place to stay. Unfortunatly we were there for only the weekend but would have liked to have stayed much longer, and we will definatly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cimron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2007

My 89 year old father has just returned from 4 nights with you, and we agree with you that he really should have had a carer with him ! However try telling that to a fiercely independant character. He has come back enthusing about the cleanliness and warmth of Mansion House Hotel, and the food, and the proximity of The Spa where he goes in the evenings for the music.
We are so grateful for your help in dealing with his mislaid coat, and now his flat keys, left behind , that, whilst accepting your claim that you are not a care home, we feel you have shown yourselves well qualified to be one.
this will probably be his last solo holiday, and he will remember it with total happiness.
Yours with many thanks,
Christine Fletcher

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lllecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion House Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Scarborough

Property: Mansion House Scarborough
Address: 45 Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mansion House Scarborough 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to the 5***** Award Winning Mansion House Scarborough winner of the Scarborough Guest Accommodation 2010 Built at the peak of regency elegance this superbly appointed sea view property is ideally located on Scarborough's famous Esplanade and opposite the Scarborough Spa and beautiful Italian gardens. Close to all amenities and within easy walking distance of the town beach and conference centre. We all look forward to welcoming you to the Mansion House Scarborough. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mansion House Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing