We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful New Years Eve dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AZ Restaurant

AZ Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Az is an intimate family run restaurant,with home made fresh meditteranian Turkish cuisine ,using family recipes passed down from generations of the Mehmet - Hassan family.We pride ourselves on good food and good service,and try and give good value for money.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Years Eve dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have visited Az numerous times and it always consistently good. The quality and taste of the food is superb (Turkish origins). The owner and staff are extremely friendly and efficient and the ambience has to be one of the best in Scarborough. A small, initimate dining experience second to none. Would highly recommend you visit Az.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    73
    22
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkhire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We went as a birthday treat. Two had vegetarian meals. I am usually disappointed by vegetarian options but these were delicious as was the chicken dish. I liked the atmosphere and music and the house red was good. I have already recommended this place to family and friends. The waitresses and owner were friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireJean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like eating as a personal guest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a really interesting restaurant experience. It is like eating in the chef/owners personal dining room, with space for only about 12 -15 diners. The service was excellent with both the chef and waitress serving. The food was great with nothing unavailable on our visit. My only comment was the price was a little high, but when you consider the limited number of covers and the personal service, then you realise why.
I would go again, but only for a special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank jelunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Turkish Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Dined with my partner and a vegetarian friend at AZ for the first time last evening. We all loved the intimate atmosphere, the excellent service and the wonderful food. After a complimentary 'amuse bouche' of tomato soup with pitta strips, I had the king prawn starter with such a fabulous sauce I wanted a spoon it all up. The AZ special of lamb, so tasty and tender it just fell apart in my mouth, was served beautifully with perfectly cooked asparagus. My partner devoured garlic mushrooms, Tavuk Sultan, tender chicken and vegetables and our veggie friend was delighted with her choice of an Eastern Anatolian Kisir salad followed by Imam Bayeldi (the Imam wept). Altogether a wonderful dining experience - try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed. A more intimate and elegant choice away from the crowd and with parking right outside - perfect!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Lovely restaurant and fantastic food. I'd definitely recommend this hidden treasure!

Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AZ Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to AZ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing