We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great brillant good place to be any time of the year”
Review of Greno Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greno Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
west yorks
1 review
“great brillant good place to be any time of the year”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

The location of the Hotel Greno on the cliff top gives outstanding views of the North Bay.
Kath and Martin give more than friendly welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
The very substantial full English breakfast are excellent and also caters for all people’s breakfast tastes.
We have been guest at the Greno Hotel over a number of years and have become close friends with Kath Martin and family.
We would always recommend the Greno to all our family and friends
Colin & Linda Southall West Yorks.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfaceWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    46
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
99
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Third time we have stayed here. Martin and Kath the owners are very friendly and hospitable. The breakfast is among the best ive tasted. Our room had a fantastic view over the sea and is without doubt the best weve seen. Being very cosy and warm on a somewhat cold day the house is very tastefully decorated throughout. Only a five minute walk to the front, and the town centre. Local restaurants are excellent. We will be back! Steve & Angie (Leeds)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealAlersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is a traditional, very friendly, family run guest house in a beautiful location. The views from the front rooms over the north bay are breathtaking. It is situated high on the cliff to the left of the castle overlooking the north bay. It has recently been tastefully re-decorated and is imaculately clean. The room we stayed in at the front of the hotel was very spacious with a large bay window with panoramic views of the coast line. All rooms are en-suite with well equiped tea and coffee facilities, and free view on the t.v's. The breakfast they offer would rival any big hotel and is delicious. We have been before and we will definatley be visiting again in the near future, a real treat for that spontaneous last minute night at the seaside!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmolly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Last thursday (24th September) my partner and I decided to go to scarborough the following night (the weather forecast was good) and we found Greno Hotel on late rooms.comYou are always a little nervous about a B & B or Hotel that you have not been to before, but we need not have been so. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome, the room was a good size, with modern facilities and then there was the view- across the North bay and absolutely fabulous.We will henceforth use this B & B for all our Scarborough trips.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

This guest house had the best sea views! the breakfast was excellent along with the service too. The room however was very small with a small space around the bottom of the bed and to the side of the bed, not much room for getting ready or even to iron if you needed to. The bathroom was satisfactory and clean but the shower pressure was quite poor. There was an almightly howl of wind through the bedroom door too! however all in all it was okay and i would stay again but only for the one night, the staff and service are what made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrownLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We travelled to The Greno from Aberdeenshire at the beginning of our summer holidays for a 5 night stay. When we booked a few months before by telephone, the owners were very helpful and made every effort to ensure that we would have exactly what we were looking for, from the type of room to our dietary needs. The hotel is in an excellent location, far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be quiet and relaxing, but only a short walk from everything. Our room was spacious, fresh, modern and comfortable and the view across the whole of the North Bay was spectacular. We were provided with more than enough fresh white towels and there were also plenty of teas, coffees, biscuits etc with the drinks facilities in the room. There was a large, comfortable lounge available for us to use downstairs, and breakfast was served in the large dining room, which was again very modern and tastefully decked out. There was a wide range of cereals, fresh fruit and cooked breakfast available, with a variety of teas (herbal, fruit and traditionals) and fresh, ground coffee. The cooked breakfast was delicious! The owners were able to offer advice on all aspects of our stay in Scarborough without making us feel like they were interfering, and they even offered us some discount tickets for a tourist attraction which we were visiting with the kids. All in all a fantastic stay, with clean and comfortable surroundings and service second to none. We really did feel like it was a home from home and can't wait to go again. Superb!

  • Liked — Modern, clean fresh rooms, foood and fantastic service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RiverdancerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Good location on the north shore, but only 5 minutes from towm center and the busier South shore. Most rooms overlook the sea.
We were upgraded to a family room at no extra cost, in order to accomodate a travel cot for our baby daughter, which was appreciated. Our room was clean and comfortable, although was one of the rooms that has yet to be renovated. Room average in size, with a nice new lcd tv with many freeview channels, and with good reception.
Breakfast was good, with good quality sausage and bacon (you can tell a lot about a small hotel from the quality of their sausage!!).
Owner was very friendly, and gave good advice about things to do and places to eat.
Overall good value (£58), i'm sure there are better, pricier, more 'boutique' hotels, but the Greno offers good value and high standards.

  • Liked — Friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank t-badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howdale
Howdale
#42 of 183 in Scarborough
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#64 of 183 in Scarborough
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#35 of 183 in Scarborough
103 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#49 of 183 in Scarborough
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greno Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greno Guesthouse

Property: Greno Guesthouse
Address: 25 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Greno Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Greno Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing