We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Ashburton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashburton House
Ranked #32 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Cant recommend this B&B enough we thouroughly enjoyed our recent 2 night stay. Our bedroom was immaculate, spotlessly clean and very well presented. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and they had a very ;arge choice for a guest house of this size.All in all you would expect to pay over £100 per night for accommodation of this standard, we will definatly return and highly recommend to anyone visitiing scarborough.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank aidyCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 297 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

Booked online with no problems at all. Arrived at the B&B and met by the owner, who was welcoming and made me feel at home. Rooms were of a good standard, with TV/DVD/Freeview, and an amazingly fast wi-fi connection! Only gripe I had was the lack of decent water pressure in the en-suite shower, but thats more of a personal thing! Very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast to set you up for the day. Overall, I would say I've paid more for far worse accommodation. I would happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We had a lovely stay here for two nights. The room was clean, cosy and tastefully decorated, and more spacious than some hotels I've stayed in as well. Facilities were adequate - the room had a TV with digital channels and DVD player which was nice. There was no hairdryer which was a bit inconvenient, but that is a minor complaint. The owners/staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome and there was a decent choice of breakfast food and drinks. The location is a little tucked away from the centre of Scarborough - which meant a good 15/20 minute walk to the beach or the shops, although on the other hand it meant things were quiet and peaceful away from all the tourism and there is a shop and pub/restaurant just up the road. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luci74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Overall good place to stay lovely bathroom fantastic breakfast friendly owners but felt it could have been a little cleaner Walls were dirty but it certainly wasn't a major issue we would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missleanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights 21st and 22nd August. Room comfortable, clean and 'homely'. Decor, furnishings and furniture all good quality and pleasing to the eye. Location excellent to walk into Scarborough town or seafront. Proprietors very accommodating to guests needs, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Breakfast food was all of a high quality, extremely tasty and was plentiful in choice and quantity. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and will definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yates-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Just returned home after 5 night stay at this hotel. I found this hotel excellent value for money. Fantastic choice at breakfast every morning. Margaret, Steven and staff very helpful and did everything they could do to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Room and bed very comfortable and coffee / tea tray filled up every morning. Great size of ensuite and very clean. Only a 5 to 10 minute walk from shops and seafront.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I can't really add any more to what's already been written....a great B&B in a great location. Spotlessly clean rooms with all you could want.....freeview, WIFI, comfy bed, shower room, tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfasts are lovely...well cooked and plenty to eat. They don't do evening meals but the pub next door serves great meals with some decent beers as well. We visit Scarborough often and will definitely be staying at this B&B again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandliz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#34 of 184 in Scarborough
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#51 of 184 in Scarborough
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#24 of 184 in Scarborough
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 184 in Scarborough
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton House

Address: 43 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $47 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburton House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashburton House is situated in an ideal position in Scarborough's beautiful valley. A few minutes walk along the level tree-lined Valley Road brings you to the South Bay beach and Spa Complex. The B&B is rated 4 stars by Visit Britain and aims to offer the best combination of quality, service and value in Scarborough. All our rooms are en suite with Free Wi-Fi and flat screen dvd tv's. All rooms are spacious and and tastefully decorated, all are equipped with dressing tables and additional seating. Each year we completely refurbish at least two of our 8 rooms to ensure quality and comfort for our guests. Throughout the public areas, the hotel aims to capture the charm and elegance of the late Victorian period, during which the hotel was built. We have a free off street car park and offer various season rates and discounts. We offer an extensive breakfast menu and as well as offering a Full English Breakfast we also serve Grilled Kippers Smoked Salmon and many other lighter options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashburton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing