We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, Fab location. Bargain.”
Review of Ashburton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashburton House
Ranked #30 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Fab location. Bargain.”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed in this hotel about a year ago and loved it. I can be a bit picky but I found absolutely nothing to complain about here! The room was lovely, big and comfortably furnished. There was a pretty chandelir in the entrance hall that made a great first impression.

The breakfasts were huge and tasty and the staff were so friendly. It was all amazingly cheap too. We went out of season so they did lots of money off deals. Plenty of parking, really near everything you could need to get to in Scarborough.

I'm getting married in scarborough in 18 months and will reccomend this B&B to any guests I have that want to stay overnight.

No noise problems whatsoever.

We'd stay again in an instant.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenselphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    52
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
166
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

On arrival we (my mum dad and my friend) were greeted with the warmest of receptions. Room was absolutely splendid, very up to date in design.. plenty storage and thoroughly clean. Mum and dad had some problems with some of their storage in their room but after reporting it the problem was fixed straight away.
Breakfast was divine and plenty if you are a big eater like me. not over portioned but you are welcome to have more if you ask.
Hotel 5-10 min walk to beach. nice bars to go to next door and a few doors down if you don't fancy goin all the way into the town for an evening drink.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Decent hotels in seaside towns are really difficult to come by but this one comes recommended. It's clean and comfortable and good value in comparison to most of the 'tired', overpriced hotels in Scarborough. You wont get a sea view with this small, family run hotel but it's only 10 minutes walk to town/seafront. It's clean and comfortable with car parking and ideal for anyone looking for a decent base to explore Scarborough and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitarslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We stayed for one night at the Ashburton. As it was just the one night, we decided we would go 'low-budget' rather than pay a bit extra for a higher quality experience.
However, I must say that many of the more expensive hotels/bnbs we've stayed in certainly dont measure up to the ashburton.
We paid 20 a night each for a double en suite. The room was larger than most hotel rooms, plenty of room for a double bed, desk and chair, tv, dvd player on a table and beside tables, wardrobe etc and didnt feel the least bit cramped. The decor was tasteful and the room had lots of charactar, not like some generic hotel rooms you see.
The location was also spot on...five minutes one way brought you to the front along a scenic road, five minutes the other way into town with a co-op on the corner of the street. It was just out of the way enough to be peaceful (having stayed in town centre hotels before, i can assure you that this alone is worth its weight in gold) but close enough so the local amenities were easily accessible.
The breakfast menu was much larger than most places, offering things to suit every palate. The breakfast was also well cooked, although we did have to wait quite awhile (although, to be fair I think this was mainly because everyone decided to come down for breakfast at once)
We came to the ashburton with very low expectations, expecting a very basic, no thrills approach and instead what we got was a lovely stay in a gorgeous room which offered fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

really enjoyed our weeks stay with steven &margaret. everything was top notch could not find fault at all. if you go to scarborough give the ashburton a try you will not be disapointed


ray&kathy taylor southampton

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exileray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

The Hotel is in a good position only five minute walk to main town,very pleasant room with T.V & drink making facilities. Good choice at breakfast,the full english was great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micraman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chippenham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

clean, friendly staff, and the best breakfast quality/range and servings I've ever had ANYWHERE! (You'd pay £170+ a night for this quality in London!)
About a 10 minute stroll from the Town, 15 to the Spa, 15 to the seafront.
So quiet enough for sleep, yet close enough to make it an easy location.
Good clean rooms, comfy beds, shower and tea making facilities, TV with Digital channels.
Scarborough is also a revelation -Never been before but a lovely town with plenty of good shops and restauraunts and some great architecture and views.
Will DEFINITELY book again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grecophile99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#13 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#23 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Powys Lodge
Powys Lodge
#34 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#61 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton House

Property: Ashburton House
Address: 43 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburton House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashburton House is situated in an ideal position in Scarborough's beautiful valley. A few minutes walk along the level tree-lined Valley Road brings you to the South Bay beach and Spa Complex. The B&B is rated 4 stars by Visit Britain and aims to offer the best combination of quality, service and value in Scarborough. All our rooms are en suite with Free Wi-Fi and flat screen dvd tv's. All rooms are spacious and and tastefully decorated, all are equipped with dressing tables and additional seating. Each year we completely refurbish at least two of our 8 rooms to ensure quality and comfort for our guests. Throughout the public areas, the hotel aims to capture the charm and elegance of the late Victorian period, during which the hotel was built. We have a free off street car park and offer various season rates and discounts. We offer an extensive breakfast menu and as well as offering a Full English Breakfast we also serve Grilled Kippers Smoked Salmon and many other lighter options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ashburton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing