We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verty good value”
Review of Ashburton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashburton House
Ranked #25 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Easy to find and very pleasant with a comfortable bed and a good shower. Breakfast choice was excellent and well presented. We only wish we could have had a couple of extra days. Parking is reasonably easy and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the sea front

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnManning42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 309 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

love this hotel for the money...the family room for five is great and has had a refurb from last year so is even nicer. All of the staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble at breakfast time. very accomodating with any requests! tried everything on the menu again...everything so yummy! (where have the lovely sauces gone??) The walk back at night was a bit much for the kids though and a communal area would be great to socialise with other guests in the hotel as noone spoke to each other at breakfast which we found a bit odd. However defo be staying again as its great value....oh and the lovely owners let you leave your luggage so u can make the most of your last day!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiekatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked back in January to stay from the 5th-9th august - Me and 6 year old twin boys.

I have only been to scarborough on day trips previously but the hotel was very easy to find from the train station. arrived slightly earlier than planned but it wasn't much of an issue as the room was almost ready. We were greeted by a warm and friendly face. we were given a small for to fill while we waited, completely painless haha and then handed our key for room 10. Was given information regarding where the room was, where breakfast was served etc reached our room, I was absolutely thrilled plenty of space, light airy and clean. there is a double bed and then a single bed behind a partition wall both having their own tv which was fab aas it meant I could watch what I wanted and the kids could watch what they wanted. good, clean shower room and plenty of storage space. there is a welcome book which contains all kinds of info from breakfast time to local shops, chemist, taxi firms and the log in details for the free wifi.all the staff we met were courteous, polite and helpful from the owners to the lady who cleans. even got to meet the owners son was so sweet seeing him get involved in the family business at breakfast one day was lovely. The beach is about a 10 min walk but would depend on health etc you literally walk down the road and as you reach the bottom you get a fantastic view of the sea through the bridge. it is a little uphill on the way back so if you have breathing problems a bit of extra work. The breakfast was by far the best hotel breakfast I have seen, brilliant choice. fresh fruit banana's, apples, grapefruit and melons. a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, jam and spreads for your toast which can be white or wholemeal. they do an awesome full breakfast, I loved the local sausages very nice. tea/coffee/fruit juice. kippers, salmon even a sausage sandwhich if you would like haha. It really is value for money, for me and the children for 4 nights it came to £320. check out was very smooth. the other guests while we were there, all friendly lovely people. considering there are other places nearby it was very quiet as far as guest noise/street noise goes. I slept every night with the window open and the only thing I heard were seagulls which was nice. I think we will definitely be back next year, me and the kiddo's had a fab stay. Look forward to seeing you all at the same time next year.

Room Tip: we were in room 10 fab room, this is the last to be refurbished so cant wait to see it next year as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelass2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Norwich, United Kingdom
5733
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask questions -you are only a phone call away-they will do everything in thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice B&B, reasonably close to the beach. Breakfast was great - food was freshly made to order, hot and obviously used good quality ingredients. We had recently stayed at a London hotel where the breakfast was a hot buffet so this was so much better!

Great family accomodation - double bedroom in one room with another room adjoining with a bunk bed and single bed for children - meant that us grown ups didn't have to go to bed at the same time as small children!

Thank you.

Room Tip: We were in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely hotel...excellently clean and super room number 1.
Superb shower room room and excellent breakfast with lovely staff.
Ten minutes walk to seafront and restaurants.
We stayed with family in the next room which was handy for babysitting!
Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Number 1 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just an overnight stay but this hotel was very comfortable and clean. We were made very welcome by the owners. Our room was large comfortable with en-suite. Coffee tea biscuits chocolates soaps etc. The shower was extremely clean and towels were very white and fluffy. Breakfast was delicious from fruits, cereals juice and a good selection of cooked food and as much as you could eat all excellently cooked. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#33 of 183 in Scarborough
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
994 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton House

Address: 43 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $48 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburton House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashburton House is situated in an ideal position in Scarborough's beautiful valley. A few minutes walk along the level tree-lined Valley Road brings you to the South Bay beach and Spa Complex. The B&B is rated 4 stars by Visit Britain and aims to offer the best combination of quality, service and value in Scarborough. All our rooms are en suite with Free Wi-Fi and flat screen dvd tv's. All rooms are spacious and and tastefully decorated, all are equipped with dressing tables and additional seating. Each year we completely refurbish at least two of our 8 rooms to ensure quality and comfort for our guests. Throughout the public areas, the hotel aims to capture the charm and elegance of the late Victorian period, during which the hotel was built. We have a free off street car park and offer various season rates and discounts. We offer an extensive breakfast menu and as well as offering a Full English Breakfast we also serve Grilled Kippers Smoked Salmon and many other lighter options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Ashburton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing