We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money”
Review of Ashburton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashburton House
Ranked #25 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I can only echo the other recent reviews. This place is amongst the best in Scarborough, almost regardless of price. Warm, comfortable, welcoming, decent shower, great breakfast, wifi that works... In fact I have only come across one better place to overnight in Scarborough (having been a regular visitor for the last 3 years), and that is twice the price. Deservedly popular so book well in advance to avoid disappointment. Thank you Steven & Margaret for many happy stays.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 309 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, clean, friendly and fabulous breakfast. I definitely would recommend this hotel the rooms are clean and extremely comfortable. Plenty of tea, coffee and hot chocolate, the breakfasts are fantastic plenty of choice and extremely delicious. Owners and staff are friendly, polite and helpful. When you book here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramey1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

You wont get better value for money than the ASHBURTON.Nice decor, clean and tidy. Warm on a freezing day.Polite pleasant and caring owners and the staff. As for the brekkie ,quality produce cooked well,plenty choice and hot not like these big chain hotels where the foods has been stood for hours.handy for town and in a very pleasant area with two good pubs either side.B and B at its best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireNoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

we loved the family of 5 room which is split into two sections so kids and adults have their own space both of which en suite and have own tv/dvd players...was great to have adult alone time knowing the kids were happy watching tv in their room or making use of the free wifi on their phones . there is a super market two minutes away and the beach, spa, town and lively north side is only a stroll away (maybe a little far for very young children). the breakfast is beautiful (and i tried everything on the menu!) and service and owners were very nice and helpful if we wanted to change the menu to suit us. it cost us a little over 500 for a week peak sason for five of us inc breakfast! a hotel two mins down the road was way more than that for same holiday! we have booked again this year and look forward to it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiekatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

very nice B&B warm clean really good breakfast hosts friendly what more could you ask for .
My son & i had a good time thank you .
we stayed just the one night nice pubs to the left & right of the hotel .
we stayed in room no 10 nice & warm
thanks again jim mcphee notts

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimglorstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed for five nights for work form Sunday till friday. Very friendly and accomodating family run hotel. Excellent spacious en suite rooms with tv's tea and coffee facitlites and room to work in the evenings. Lovely breakfasts and the hosts are very acomodating, making brakfast facilities available to me even though I was up early for work four out of the five nights. Excellent value for money, momets from the sea front, excellent wifi in all areas including rooms. Would recomend anyone to stay here for buisness or as a holiday stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rix1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights after christmas...from 27th/30....had a nice quite single room which was comfortable and clean with good shower and tea and coffee provided..The family who run this B&B were friendly and hard working..even though breakfast was a little early for me...steven and margret did their best to give me what i wanted and the service was good as they knew my health was not good,however the food was plenty and of very good quality and i could relax as it is private and nobody bothered me. I am a smoker but would not smoke on their property and i do not smoke at home in my house as i have a child and am a single father,They did not bother if i went out front to smoke..plus they kindly did me a favor and i found them to be thoughtfull so overall i do not think you will find better for your money in Scarborough since i know the town anyway....All the best to Ashburton and thanks to Steven and Margret!

Room Tip: All the rooms are worth the price....best eggs i have ever had..over easy...nicely cooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepdarkpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#32 of 183 in Scarborough
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
994 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton House

Address: 43 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $49 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburton House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashburton House is situated in an ideal position in Scarborough's beautiful valley. A few minutes walk along the level tree-lined Valley Road brings you to the South Bay beach and Spa Complex. The B&B is rated 4 stars by Visit Britain and aims to offer the best combination of quality, service and value in Scarborough. All our rooms are en suite with Free Wi-Fi and flat screen dvd tv's. All rooms are spacious and and tastefully decorated, all are equipped with dressing tables and additional seating. Each year we completely refurbish at least two of our 8 rooms to ensure quality and comfort for our guests. Throughout the public areas, the hotel aims to capture the charm and elegance of the late Victorian period, during which the hotel was built. We have a free off street car park and offer various season rates and discounts. We offer an extensive breakfast menu and as well as offering a Full English Breakfast we also serve Grilled Kippers Smoked Salmon and many other lighter options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Ashburton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing