We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic place to unwind and enjoy the yorkshire coast and countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wrea Head Country Cottages
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We arrived fairly late to a freindly warm yorkshire welcome, and shown to our lovely cottage called Sea View, with fabulous views over the countryside and the castle and sea beyond. The heating had been put on beforehand so it was really cosy and warm, and on looking around had everything we could wish for for a relaxing break, our host explained everything and showed us round the grounds and pool, all very clean and well cared for.
All our online shopping had been unpacked and put away for us, so we were able to settle in immediately after our long journey. The next day we enquired about the area and places to visit, restaurants, etc and everyone was very helpful and knowledgable.
We had mixed weather and found plenty to do, and places to visit in the wet and also on the nicer days. The coast is beautiful around here and great for walking with a mixture of sandy and rocky beaches. The cottage was ideally situated 2 minutes outside Scalby, and Scarborough just beyond, but in a lovely peaceful setting.
We really have to congratulate the owners on their hospitality skills, they do go that extra mile to ensure we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of Wrea Head Country Cottages.
We enjoyed it so much that we even rebooked before we departed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

The cottages are located in beautiful countryside with panoramic views to the sea and castle. Every need was catered for with our comfort and satisfaction given top priority. The cottage was spacious and warm, the beds comfortable and facilities superb with use of a spotlessly clean pool and sauna. Our hosts offered us a warm Yorkshire welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We only spent two nights at Wrea Head Country Cottages and wished we'd booked for a week! The staff were friendly and welcoming and couldnt have been more helpful. It's a lovely peaceful place to relax and unwind in well appointed, comfortable accomodation. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princesssloth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

On arrival we noticed a large sign .... Awarded Cottages of the year 1997!
The cottages initially look beautiful however on closer inspection the problems started to emerge. The bed creaked terribly, the furnishings were really dated including the televisions.
The management were far from friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Visitor093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malcolmscarborough, Owner at Wrea Head Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2011

We are sorry you felt the need to put this awful message on tripadvisor but you did try to get away with hiding a dog in your cottage we feel this review is very unfair, , the cottage you stayed in was renovted 3 months before you arrived with a new bed,We wonder if you put this awful message because we charged you for bringing a dog into the cottage which we dont allow and you left it for many hours,whilst you left the cottage moderatly clean we had to have the carpets & sofas washed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

one word only for my review
EXCELLENT!!
everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Felt was overpriced, in need of refurbishment. Slugs in the house at night, had to clean up slimy trail each morning!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cheekychops056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Just returned from 4 nights in Haybarn cottage. 5 of us aged 26 - 54 years. a family weekend. we used the cottage to host an 80th birthday party for my Mum who lives locally. The cottage was ideal, easily catering for 11 adults. Well equipped kichen and spotlessly clean on arrival. The family who run the cottages were very welcoming and accommodating - they unpacked our Tesco on line shop before we arrived. The pool and sauna are a nice feature, especially for relaxing after a cold blast on the sea front. The accommodation isn't cheap, but it is good value for money for a family break. There are lots of thoughtful touches to make your stay enjoyable and we will certainly return again

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisliz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
2.3 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
2.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Country Cottages

Address: Barmoor Lane | Scalby, Scarborough YO13 0PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range: $81 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wrea Head Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wrea Head Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing