We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astley family weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #32 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Astley family weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent hotel will be recommending it to anyone staying in Scarborough.
This Family run establishment was very friendly, the breakfast was top notch and the whole family ensured our stay was five star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
58
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was many years since my husband & I had visited Scarborough for a holiday, [our courting days in 1965 !! ] until 30th September 2013. On this visit, we discovered parts of Scarborough , which we had never seen before and that was partly due to all the information given to us by Andy & Helen. It was just great !! The word 'lovely' is used so much, to describe so many things, but as I wrote in the Visitor's Book :- It was a lovely holiday, in a lovley room, with a lovely view, looked after by lovely people, who felt like friends, who gave us lovely hospitality and we enjoyed every lovley 'piping hot' breakfast !! Thank you Helen, Andy and family. Hoping to visit you all at the 'Stuart House Hotel' again. Val & Harry. Durham

Room Tip: Wherever we visit in the world, if it is on the coast and if at all possible, we like to have a seav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stuart House 21st September. What can one say ,we where made so welcome and the view from our top floor was beautiful. Our room / on suite was spotless we kid you not . The information package in our room was really helpful ... Places where to visit and eat around Scarborough. We managed to park right outside and was given a weekend park pass Free ... Great for us ..... Breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice... Would we go again YES.. And would recommend it to family and friends .Thankyou for a lovely stay .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every year I go to Scarborough for a long weekend and stay in the same hotel, the same room at the Stuart House hotel. Family run by Andy and his wife Helen. Rooms are always clean and tidy. Breakfast, included in the price, is cooked to order, not laid out in conveyor belt serveries, and is always fresh and appetising. You can have anything from cereal, continental to the full english breakfast or any variation of the same. Booking by phone could not be easier, unlike some hotels here that charge YOU to ring THEM, the hotel number is normal listing. My wife and I are made to feel like part of the family and its a lovely hotel to stay. No contest for me, same next year please. 5 minutes from Scarborough Castle. Great views over North Bay.

Room Tip: No disabled facility due to hotel design, stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been visiting Scarborough for twenty years and stayed in lots of hotels. You would have to go a long way to beat this on friendliness of welcome, rooms, food and and even general helpfulness and local knowledge/advice. Very clean and the bed is even better than my own and I heard others say that too at breakfast. Most recommended and will definitely return to this hotel every year from now on.... Provided I can get a room :o)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been enjoying breaks in Scarborough for about 10 years now, sometimes twice a year and used tripadvisor when we couldn't get booked in our usual places this year. The Stuart House Hotel will now be the first hotel for us to check for availabilty, because the whole experience was excellent. The warm friendly welcome and an uncomplicated check-in after a tiring journey was much appreciated. Our room was spacious and comfortable, very clean, the shower always worked, there was constant hot water and warm towels. And after a good night's sleep down to a delicious breakfast - we were spoilt for choice and 'The Full Monty' set us up for the day. Lots of information in reception about Scarborough and beyond and a daily tide table and weather forecast (and a special one for us for York races). The location is good for exploring Scarborough's history - there's a surprise around every corner, and the seaside - both the North and South Bay beaches are minutes away, as is the town for shopping. Thank you to Andy, Helen, Aimee, Zak and Courtney for the excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joehonest_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Stuart House Hotel is a fabulous place to stay and even though the hotel was full, Andy, Helen and family made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel and they catered for our every need.

The accommodation is outstanding and as a four star guest house was very clean, tidy, modern but still retaining some character features about the building with parking available right outside. We were fortunate enough to book a sea view room which has a view over the bay and well worth getting up early for every morning.

The breakfast choice was more than enough for ourselves with 'The Full Monty' breakfast and our two young girls asked for everything from egg on toast to treacle on toast!!!!!

By far the best tribute to staying at the Stuart House Hotel is the family that run it, who effortlessly make you feel at home and can't do enough for you.

We stay in a lot of hotels across the east coast but The Stuart House hotel is by far the best, the only downside to the holiday was only booking two nights not three.

Thanks to Andy, Helen, Aimee and Zak for making our holiday very enjoyable, comfortable and memorable, see you at New Year.

Andy

Room Tip: Book early enough for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tall Storeys Guest House
Tall Storeys Guest House
#28 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greno Guesthouse
Greno Guesthouse
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#20 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Property: Stuart House Hotel
Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stuart House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing