We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuart House hotel - Top Notch”
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #36 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stuart House hotel - Top Notch”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every year I go to Scarborough for a long weekend and stay in the same hotel, the same room at the Stuart House hotel. Family run by Andy and his wife Helen. Rooms are always clean and tidy. Breakfast, included in the price, is cooked to order, not laid out in conveyor belt serveries, and is always fresh and appetising. You can have anything from cereal, continental to the full english breakfast or any variation of the same. Booking by phone could not be easier, unlike some hotels here that charge YOU to ring THEM, the hotel number is normal listing. My wife and I are made to feel like part of the family and its a lovely hotel to stay. No contest for me, same next year please. 5 minutes from Scarborough Castle. Great views over North Bay.

Room Tip: No disabled facility due to hotel design, stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonScouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
60
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been visiting Scarborough for twenty years and stayed in lots of hotels. You would have to go a long way to beat this on friendliness of welcome, rooms, food and and even general helpfulness and local knowledge/advice. Very clean and the bed is even better than my own and I heard others say that too at breakfast. Most recommended and will definitely return to this hotel every year from now on.... Provided I can get a room :o)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been enjoying breaks in Scarborough for about 10 years now, sometimes twice a year and used tripadvisor when we couldn't get booked in our usual places this year. The Stuart House Hotel will now be the first hotel for us to check for availabilty, because the whole experience was excellent. The warm friendly welcome and an uncomplicated check-in after a tiring journey was much appreciated. Our room was spacious and comfortable, very clean, the shower always worked, there was constant hot water and warm towels. And after a good night's sleep down to a delicious breakfast - we were spoilt for choice and 'The Full Monty' set us up for the day. Lots of information in reception about Scarborough and beyond and a daily tide table and weather forecast (and a special one for us for York races). The location is good for exploring Scarborough's history - there's a surprise around every corner, and the seaside - both the North and South Bay beaches are minutes away, as is the town for shopping. Thank you to Andy, Helen, Aimee, Zak and Courtney for the excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joehonest_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Stuart House Hotel is a fabulous place to stay and even though the hotel was full, Andy, Helen and family made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel and they catered for our every need.

The accommodation is outstanding and as a four star guest house was very clean, tidy, modern but still retaining some character features about the building with parking available right outside. We were fortunate enough to book a sea view room which has a view over the bay and well worth getting up early for every morning.

The breakfast choice was more than enough for ourselves with 'The Full Monty' breakfast and our two young girls asked for everything from egg on toast to treacle on toast!!!!!

By far the best tribute to staying at the Stuart House Hotel is the family that run it, who effortlessly make you feel at home and can't do enough for you.

We stay in a lot of hotels across the east coast but The Stuart House hotel is by far the best, the only downside to the holiday was only booking two nights not three.

Thanks to Andy, Helen, Aimee and Zak for making our holiday very enjoyable, comfortable and memorable, see you at New Year.

Andy

Room Tip: Book early enough for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

loved our stay here. lovely sea view fantastic room lovely family couldnt do enough to make us welcome. even invited us to a family party.breakfast was ordered on request an was delicious, fussy kids catered for too thank you see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarelouisehar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

On arrival we was given a parking permit for a charge of £1 which was fantastic. We immediately felt at home Andy was so welcoming and very helpful giving directions to Peasholme park. On entering the room the first thing we noticed were the amazing views of the sea then it was how spotlessly clean the room was, we also had a bunk bed which gave us one very happy 7 year old girl. Breakfast in the morning was lovely with lots to choose from and our order was taken from their little boy (sorry I didn't catch his name) but like the entire family he was extremely polite and very efficient he got the order spot on. We are very sorry we didn't get to thank them as we left but they were very busy with breakfast and we were heading to the beach. We would definitely recommend Stuart House and would love to stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in August. It is in a beautiful elevated position close to castle,
It has the best view in scarborough. Is is 5 minutes walk to town, but also a close walk to north bay.
The host is very friendly, with a sense of humour, the rooms are very clean, spacious and all en-suite. The breakfast is lovely, with a good variety. It is very family friendy with no noisy pubs nearby, the only noise at night was from the seaguls. Street parking is a bit restricted, but don't let this put you off, because its the only downside to this lovely hotel, we would definitely return again.

Room Tip: room 2 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevron01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine View Guest House
Marine View Guest House
#108 of 183 in Scarborough
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#40 of 183 in Scarborough
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 183 in Scarborough
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Property: Stuart House Hotel
Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stuart House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing