We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #37 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2011

we have just stayed at the stuart house, we have stayed there for the past severn years, this is our second time this year, and we hope too stay again this year. andy, helen, and family are always friendly, and very helpful, nothing is to much trouble,we went to the stuart house in february the weather was cold, when we returned from a days outing helen had put a heater in our room for extra warmth even though the heating was on constantly. it is little things like that which they have done over the past severn years,with out asking, which is why we keep returning, and will continue to recomend this hotel to our friends and family. thank you for yet another memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1smithsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Stuart House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

On arriving at this b&b it looked clean and inviting but this is where things started to go wrong. There was no hot water or heating in the rooms during the day. The central heating was on late at night but I am unsure of what time it was turned on. The 'Bar' wasn't open during our 3 night stay but a sign stated that children weren't allowed after 9.p.m. in any case. The 'Bar' sold cans of lager and beer and there are no draught beers available or any pumps. I can only assume that the bar is opened if the b&b is very busy. No snacks or meals where available other than breakfast despite stating so in the brosure. there was plenty of choice for breakfast but it was pre-cooked despite there being only us in the b&b. there is too many little things wrong to list with this b&b and the owners were extremely rude. The setting for the hotel is in a stunning location and if you want exellent views pick another hotel in the area there are plenty to choose from most of them with real bars. Scarborough itself is a beautiful place to visit with plenty of things to do. We will visit again as there's plenty we didn't have time to see But not at this 'hotel'

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dawnmason2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancy7-11, Owner at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

This guest had no problem with the guest house or staff until a member of his family was approached about smoking in their room. After their three night stay with us we were unable to process his payment due to a telephone line failure and he said that he would pay the remainder once he was home and our machine was working. We believe that he changed his mind and is now finding excuses for non payment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

great hotel for groups we had 44 with us eveyone loved the hotel, cleanliness 1st class, food 1st class. Would recommend very highly.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

i stayed in late march in 2011 and had a really lovely time! the location was superb and the rooms were really comfy! not too far to walk to scarborough town centre and all the amenities were available! great time was had by all!!! would stay there again! thanks andy and helen!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kevvo17031960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

First time we stayed here, it was a surprise for my 50th birthday, we stayed on the top floor,my partner is disabled,so found it very difficult on the stairs, it does state to tell them and they can arrange a more suitable room,but I was hoping for a sea-view,and got one. the room was clean the shower and toilet was spotless. we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markdownmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Looked after so well nothing was to much trouble for them, It was my granddaughters birthday on Saturday 5 years old and the hotel staff went to so much trouble to make it memorable for her/ We all had a fantastic time and the breakfasts were something else mega!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Parking is on street, free but be prepared to make a dash for spaces. There are a lot of hotels in this part of town and limited parking. When you do get to park you can look over at the stunning sea views. Our stay was made much better by being allocated a room with the view. Fabulous.

Friendly and helpful staff. Our room was big and had 2 bunk beds as well as our double, obviously got the family room. Decor was clean but a little dated.

Breakfast is pretty much in the cellar. Food was reasonable but the room itself does lack light due to its location.

Heading into town is a bit of a trek so a taxi seems justified after that big meal and a pint.

Positive big rooms and great views.
Negative needs updating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine View Guest House
Marine View Guest House
#102 of 184 in Scarborough
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#41 of 184 in Scarborough
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $86 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stuart House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing