We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pint of lager and a packet of crisps” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hayburn Wyke

Hayburn Wyke
Ranked #153 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
pontefract
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“pint of lager and a packet of crisps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Fantastic pub situated on the halfway point of a circular walk from Ravenscar down the coastal path to Hayburn Wyke, then back along the old railway track to Ravenscar. Lovely beer garden, and although we did not eat there the pub and beer garden was full of people eating and the food did look good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PontefractWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We tipped up on our way through. Was a sunny day so sat outside; plenty of water available for the dog. We were just in time to order from the lunch menu and had burgers and chips. All well cooked, good value for money and the onion rings were amazing. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went for a meal on the last night of our stay in the area. food was good and the staff welcoming. Had the fish and chips special on the Thursday night which was excellent. we have 2 dogs and the were made welcome. it is very busy at weekends and most days in the summer. Worth a visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derbydu0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

visited on sunday 2nd march for lunch had a great carvery well prepared and served by very friendly staff highly recommend for anyone who wants value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mossy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Is this England as it should be?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Interesting day...this place is close by me but I have never eaten there. Went for a lunch and a few beers with the family and was not disappointed!
Cordon bleu? Non! That was not what I had gone out for. Scrummy? Yep!
Good hearty food and ales...indeed nice selection of same! Blonde barmaid lady was great! Met grey haired barman type guy who was drinking in front of the bar!
A curious testimony I think as to what life is like in the country but, that said, friendly nonetheless! (even though he had had a few too many!).
Nice surroundings too and good service mad our day as we lunched after a long mornings exercise in the NY Moors.
Wysiwyg! What you see is what you get...not disappointed and after a hard mornings up against it, it really fuelled us for more!

And the grey haired lad added a no doubt Yorkshire slant on life!
Good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayburn Wyke also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Burniston, Scarborough
 

Been to Hayburn Wyke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing