We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food and made to feel very welcome”

Pomodoro Pizzeria & Cafe
Ranked #8 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a licensed Italian CAFE & PIZZERIA. Open all day from 11am to 9pm Monday to Friday 11am to 9pm, Saturday 11am to 9.30Pm and CLOSED Sundays. We have a lunch menu 11am to 5.30Pm service at the counter and an evening menu service at the table from 5.30 Pm.. We serve Coffee's,Itaian fruit juices, Home made cake, focaccia, pizza al taglia, 12" pizza, garic bread, calzone lasagne, canneloni, savory pancakes, salads of all shapes and sizes and more. Eat in or take away in a friendly warm atmosphere. Fresh food prepared daily, lots of specials and fresh seafood when the quality is good. Extensive evening menu in our CAFE & PIZZERIA. Booking on an evening advisable. Please do not expect fine dining we are a CAFE & PIZZERIA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fab food and made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Pomodoro, we normally go to La Piazza, but we have since found out it is now closed and Luca now works here, so that was a good sign when we saw him working in the Kitchen. We had a variety of different meals, all were excellent. A few of us had deserts all of which were Devine. Lovely selection of Italian cold drinks and great coffee. The only thing I would like them to add to the menu is pasta in a creamy sauce, such as Carbonara.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    101
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Refreshing change”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The first thing that strikes you about this Italian run place is that this is where the Italians congregate for coffee, cake and pizza. Always a good sign.
I have been here three times in a period of a month and enjoyed it everytime.
Service is friendly and quick.
Daily specials are on display along with a great display of little cream filled cakes and meringues. Pizza cooked in a proper pizza oven varying in price from 4.29 to 5.99.
Tried the Arancini which although tasty lacked a bit of seasoning.
Only one toilet which is an inconvenience for a convenience.
Main service area and cooking area has about 30 covers then more through a small hallway into what is basically the next door building.
Still a fledgling business but being run by astute, experienced Italians who have worked elsewhere in the town. Their pooled experience can't help but to produce a successful venture. I wish them every success and I shall return often. Number one spot in town for espresso / macchiato.

Helpful?
Thank woolfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I am big fan of italian food, and Pomodoros does not disappoint! The lasagne is delicious and my husband said the same thing about his pizza. They were also very good at catering for our dairy intolerant daughter. The staff is really nice and always helpful. They also have a highchair. I definitely recommend it and we will definitely go back on our next trip to Scarborough!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat5830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place looks very simple and understated and now I understand why. The food is so lovely that flashy surroundings are not necessary., although the interior is modern, bright and clean. Our meals were authentically Italian and beautifully presented, It has a cafe atmosphere and although it was very busy it did not seem frenetic or congested. The service was very friendly and relaxed and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal, being tempted to three courses and leaving very full and satisfied. Will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roombudYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“First visit - we shall return!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

It was our first visit to Pomodoro but will not be our last!! We were a party of eight and we all enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious, fresh and tasty with plenty of choice - including "specials" and it was clean plates all round!! The staff were friendly and polite and knowledgeable regarding the menu and specials which was helpful. The bistro/cafe is furnished cafe style and was very busy with a buzzy atmosphere - bring your own bottle was an added bonus!! Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro Pizzeria & Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Pomodoro Pizzeria & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing