We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the clfton, staff very helpfull, only draw backs we booked 2 twin rooms and ended up with one as a double did cause a few problems but we managed and the other thing was one of our party had a problem with stairs and was given a ground floor romm where they had to go through the resturant to exit the hotel made them feel akward passing people eating. Otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blencoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    369
    307
    214
    297
See reviews for
225
792
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a long weekend here not bad at all friendly staff food excellent especially the buffet breakfast try it for yourselves you won't be disappointed.5 min walk down hill to the beach 10 min walk to Scarborough harbour with shops restaurants and pubs all close at hand

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

If you want luxury, don't go here, but we paid £49 for 2 adjoining rooms -a single and a double. We knew it wouldn't have a sea view for the price, but there was outside. Yes some wallpaper was coming off, tiles were cracked, furniture was chipped and the cold tap kept coming apart but we just stayed one night and had a great time in Scarborough. My daughter's single room was very small and we paid £39 for that so we got the better value. The receptionist on arrival was very pleasant and she didn't charge us for parking. The buffet breakfast wasn't gourmet, but it set us up for the day. If we had paid £90 for the room we would be complaining, but we didn't, so we aren't!!

Room Tip: You can have a sea view if you pay a bit more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59Fran52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

no service at bar no apologies from staff for facilitys stated.come home feeling depressed.no ventalaton in room. little man who worked there very accomidating. i would advise you stay clear from this hotel! breakfast was the best part,no atmosphere like music etc, no entertainment,not clear instructions.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverlynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This Hotel needs a revamp but the staff were friendly the rooms were clean the food basic but good .The thing that spoilt our weekend was all the dogs every where we turned the were dogs .I wouldn't like to think I was going into a room after a dog had been there

Room Tip: We stayed in 225 outside the window was a flat roof the seagulls gathered all day/night so don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

I agree with a lot of the comments on here . The main thing this hotel has going for it is its position .It must be one of the best in Scarborough and it could be a first class hotel . We stayed for just one night , a present from family. we had an " executive " room but not really sure what this meant ! It was on the fourth floor with tremendous views and was quite a large room with a big bathroom . The room had obviously just been decorated ( badly ) and the new looking curtains were covered in plaster. The room had not been cleaned but the bathroom and the sheets were clean. The tea and coffee in the room was swiftly thrown down the sink not sure what it was !!! It was quite a cold night but there was no heating and despite being a twin room there was one spare blanket which appeared to be covered in vomit . We did however have a good nights sleep as it was quiet and the new beds were comfortable . The breakfast was fine but we did not attempt the tea or coffee ! the downstairs areas appear to be less shabby than the bedrooms . I do feel as a lot of people have said that the main issue here is housekeeping . It could be so much better , I would not stay again unless it had a major overhaul .

Room Tip: The views from fourth floor are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanabird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

My husband (who is wheelchair bound) and I stayed at this hotel on a KGB deal. The hotel is in a good location and great view from our window. The hotel has a step up and step down into it. So had to get my husband up and down a step in his wheelchair. When I mentioned this to the staff they said, can't he walk! He's disabled, but can't he walk! We were on the 3rd floor (note disabled husband) so had the use the out of date lift that had a gate and door to open. This made it very difficult for me to get my husband in his wheelchair in the lift. I pulled my back twice while in the process of doing this. The room was fine but a bit out of date and the bathroom had a bath not a walk in shower. We had a voucher for a bottle of wine, which was ok, and also for a basket of fruit. The fruit consisted of 6 pieces of fruit put into a stainless steel serving dish! The breakfast was standard and not of the highest quality and the evening meal was atrocious. It was like something never seen before. All my husband had to eat was the liver and potatoes. Overall this establishment is a glorified guest house, in need of decoration, staff with some sort of personality and better facilities. The only person who was of any assistance to us was Jill who helped us in the restaurant. She found us an accessible table and reserved us a table for the rest of our 3 day stay. So if you are disabled don't stay at his hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are disabled or wheelchair bound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing