We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

If you expect the Ritz then pay the Ritz prices. We paid £89 per night for a family room. Clean and tidy bedroom, friendly staff. Yes tinned tomatoes and mushrooms but I am still living. Good value bar food as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    369
    307
    214
    297
See reviews for
225
792
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

On arrival at the Clifton we thought it looked okay. We went tour room on the 3rd floor and again okay. We had the sea view we asked and paid for. It had obviously been recently decorated but there were still dirty marks on the door and a big chunk missing from the modern wardrobe doors The bed linen was lovely and clean. Then I went into the bathroom. The bath itself was fine but the bath panel was so old and bad there was liquid oozing out. The bath taps were clean but didn't look good as it looked like someone had cleaned them with the wrong cleaner and they were tarnished. And there was no way I was going to attempt to use the shower. The lamps in the room hadn't been dusted for months.
The breakfast was buffet style and was nice

My opinion is there is a lack of good housekeeping in the hotel. I do understand they are doing the hotel up but they should still make sure the basic housekeeping is good

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annestav52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The staff were friendly on arrival, and the booking in process quick and painless. We arrived early so our room was not ready but they let me stow our luggage, while we went sightseeing. The room was small but fit for purpose. It was clean and the bed was comfy. We had a comfortable night. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and as much as you can eat. The only bad thing was the coloured water they called coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Grande must have once been very grand. It still has a sense of grandeur and style

The Ballroom will be amazing once refurbished, finished. The downside is; to fill her 500 rooms she takes coach parties and there is a difference in her room specifications from windowless rooms to dual aspects rooms with jacuzzi bath.

You should check on the facilities of your room but if you go, ask the questions. I will definately go again I loved the building and the jacuzzi bath room. Breakfast ok for the price but decided evening meal would be best outside.

Something everyone wants these days is WI FI it was free in communal areas.

Overall once moved rooms great value.

Marilyn

Room Tip: Check room have windows ask for jacuzzi bath or double ended bath or refurbished room don't acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

hotel was a bit dated in areas but that's how sea side hotels are supposed be! the room we were in 490 I think. top floor opposite lift. was clean, fresh, lovely sea view, powerful shower, working tele and warm. £45 a night including breakfast, which was also good, I couldn't ask for more. providing all the other rooms are as good as ours I would recommend to anyone.
staff were all very friendly. I didn't have any problems but they all looked happy to help if I did. would stay again.

Room Tip: sea views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackieboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July 2014. The room we had was very spacious and a wonderful sea view. Staff were friendly and helpful. We booked for evening meals but we were disappointed with the quality and would eat out if we went back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatgran47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night and will not stay here again. The reception area, lounge and dining area were all nice but when we opened the door to our room, we thought we were in a different hotel! dirty carpets, chipped skirting boards, wallpaper coming off the walls and a tv from the last ice age and as for the bathroom....broken and loose floor tiles, dirty toilet seat, tiolet paper stuffed into holes to block them up, chipped emamel in the bath, an electric towel rail so hot that it could burn skin with no means to turn it off as we far as we could see and the floor and walls were dirty.
We went down to reception to report these things, but as the hotel was full were could not be re-roomed, the receptionist did try to get us in at The Grand which is the Clifton's sister hotel, but no sea view rooms were available, she also offered to give us our money back, but it was late on in the afternoon and all other hotels were fully booked, we knew this as we had just walked around Scarborough and noticed the no vacancy signs in the other hotels windows, so we had to put up with the room for the night. We paid just under £100 pounds for one nights bed and breakfast (this included parking), we did not expect it to be anything like this!!!

Room Tip: Try and find another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing