We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't believe the bad reviews, hotel is fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked this on the internet from Brittania Hotels E shot . One night dinner bed and breakfast with free bottle of wine in a double standard room price £49.50 total
We arrived at the car park at 11.30 am and although we could not access our room until 3 pm they checked us in and we were able to leave the car and spent the day walking round Scarborough.Returned to our room at 4.30. Room was very clean and we had no fault with it at all.
The lounge area downstairs is nice with plenty of room. There is a tv area as well.The dining room is very nice and intimate.Ref the dinner, it was okay,no complaints and we shared a bottle Rose which was free. The breakfast was standard for Brittania hotels and again no complaints there.
Ok the hotel is a bit dated but it has been up a long time and they are now refurbishing it.We found the staff fine and only too eager to help.Ok it is not the Ritz but you are not paying Ritz prices LOL.I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonnieb197247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights! The room was disgusting, the floors looked like they had not been cleaned for an eternity! And the staff were very unfriendly, the sea view was spoilt by all the scaffolding and diet and the window was briken

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

the room was smelling and the furnature was falling apart the decor was dirty.
the shower screen had a half inch of dirt along the base.
the mirror was black like smoke as the kettle was under it and the bathroom floor had a big
crack in the tile.
the headboard had big screws sticking out if the wall that it was fixed to and the room door had to be puhed hard to close it.
the staff looked fed up, although they were polite, but the food was not very good, the bed was clean and the bath and towels also

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My advice, don't bother. Looks like it hasn't been decorated since it was built, food awful, could have been cleaner in some areas, some members of staff in desperate need of customer service training. Our welcome to the hotel was an argument about our dog, which we had pre-booked and paid for, not pet friendly as advertised. Paid extra for a sea view room only to find scaffolding up at the window and windows so filthy we could hardly see through them. Saving grace of the whole weekend, the weather was lovely so we didn't have to be in there for any great length of time. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went to the Clifton last week with a friend sharing a twin room. The room was a bit musty, and the decor was very sad. Bed comfortable, room warm, bathroom tired. The staff were friendly - we ate there (self-service) OK but nothing to write home about sadly. Got the impression that they hotel chain are trying very hard to get the place back to its former glory which in its hay day must have been lovely. Staff were friendly - singer on the night we were there was actually entertaining. Hope the hotel chain pull it off and restore the Clifton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELEGRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Clifton for a good weekend away, we had read negative reviews about this hotel but were not put off by the fact that they are working on upgrading. This was our experience, happy helpful staff, clean room, pristine bed linen and towels and good food. We had chosen a sea view room as they tend to be the larger rooms. Yes the carpet on the stairs is thread bear and plaster falling from the walls but it is not a problem, it is a lovely quaint old hotel so don’t be put off from going, we will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Okay lets just say we did pay just £60 for one night for a room with a sea view, so wasn't expecting Malmaison standard however 'clean' would have been nice. Upon arrival reception were unable to find our booking and we was kept waiting for half hour with no offer of a drink etc. The hotel looked closed - it was dark, furniture pushed up against walls, cold and no lights on what so ever and void of people and life. Eventually was given a key to our room. Going up the stairs it was apparent of the need for a total over haul, the carpets were thread bare and the walls had plaster falling out. The worst of it was the amount of clutter on the floors, dirty bedding, rubbish bags and even plates of half eaten food that hadnt been taken from outside of the rooms. Our room was spacious and appreared clean if not very dated and resembled something from the 80's. Bedding was spot less and the rest down hill. The sea view was to be viewed through dusty, rotten and dirty windows. The bathroom was poor and we then found the previous persons wash bag in the cupboard, soiled plaster on the window ledge and the towels were covered in make up and were damp. It was clear they had been used and the maids had clearly come in the room changed bedding and done nothing else. After a debate on staying or not we decided as it was a sunny gorgeous day we would head out and come back at bedtime. We did speak to reception about wash bag and towels, amusingly the lady looked at us smiled and said she would get us some more towels, she certainly didnt appear shocked or apologetic. After a great day out we returned at 10pm. It was a transformation and hilarious. From the dark lifeless hotel on arrival it was a hive of activity, mainly of OAP's (i have nothing against them i may add). The hotel had a man with a banjo in the corner doing a song from Titanic and lots of older people dancing and drinking. My partner referred to it as a scene from Cocoon. We went to the bar for a drink before bed. When I asked for a liqueor coffee the bar maid looked startled and said she would have to speak to the manager as she didnt know if they did them, at which point she locked up the bar and disapeared for five mins??? leaving a huge queue of people. On return she said no and also that they only did instant coffee and would i like some instant hot chocolate with some thing in. Odd and I declined. We took a miss on brekfast for fear of what we might find after smelling some thing awful in the morning around the breakfast room and went out. Breakfast at the Spa was amazing, full english with excellent quality produce, fresh coffee and fresh juice at a cost of £18 for two of us which was well worth it. If you want some where cheap where you are not going to stay in your room or eat in the hotel and come back a little drunk to aid sleep then book, if not DONT.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VonnieNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,256 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $59 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing