We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever, dirty and decaying with terrible food. More like a slum.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever, dirty and decaying with terrible food. More like a slum.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Clifton Hotel at Scarborough is a disgrace, its like a slum. Its filthy, with mould, dirt and peeling paint and plaster everywhere The bathroom had hair in the bath and on the floor when we arrived and left. View the photos I have left to see evidence of threadbare carpets, cracked walls from floor to ceiling, filthy lift, shower screen black with dirt and mould, black mould round the bath, stairwell used to store spare beds. There were marks on the walls from previous water damage which had never been cleaned. The dining room resembled a self service cafeteria. Certainly no frills or waiter service. The breakfast was unspeakable. There were tinned tomatoes, scrambled eggs which were solid lumps floating in 2" of hot water. I had a taste of the boiled mushrooms and felt sick. The fruit was tinned. The evening meal was supposed to be liver but was inedible. The carrots and broccoli had been boiled forever and were soggy. Don't be fooled by the £79 offer, it isn't a bargain, its a health hazard. We couldn't park in the small car park which is charged at £6 a day so had to park on the street which also costs £6. We paid £10 a day for sea view but had to clean the windows to see the lovely view.

Room Tip: Pay extra £10 for a sea view but take a wash leather with you to clean the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    368
    307
    213
    297
See reviews for
224
792
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked a room for two nights through groupon and paid for an upgrade to a sea view room unfortunately the view was of scaffolding covered by a safety screen.The windows wouldnt open so to get any fresh air we had to jam the door open.The bathroom was a disaster with a tiny sink with a glass tray above it so we could not put our heads over the actual sink without soaking ourselves and the floor,which had no grout between the tiles several of which were loose.The breakfast and service were the only reason this hotel scored anything, enough said apart from NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am a seasoned traveller staying in hotels all over the world. I stay in hotels at least once a week sometimes for as long as 30 days. I am just back from a recent trip to this hotel, and a quick scan through all the reviews says it all really, Its quite bad. I booked via booking.com and paid full price for a superior room (Sea View). The views were great! my room was very spacious and most of the staff were helpful and friendly, and that's about where it all ends for me.

I paid 190.00 quid for two nights, and this would of been better spent just about anywhere else in the town. Extensive refurbishments are underway for the leaking roof and sprucing up the exterior, (in the dim and distant past this hotel would of been a treat) but its now very tired and requires the sort of capital investment it just is never going to get to put it right.

I am quite sure the vast majority of guests would of been booking special deals and I would suggest if your paying anymore than 30 quid a night try somewhere closer to town!.

To be fair I was well aware of what I was getting (and for reasons that aren't important here, this was the chosen venue for a few of us who went up to Scarborough for a weekend) so I knew what I was walking into, so we made the most of what they had to offer, (which was not much). so here are the main points,

Stayed in Room 127 (spacious)
Dirty room and dirty bed Linen
uncomfortable bed (two singles pushed together
uncomfortably warm room
old and tired furnishings
damp stains running down the wall
Only one window partially opened I used a tea spoon to make a wedge so we could get some air into the place.
very noisy, from passing guests and creaking boards (lots of these in an old hotel of course)
Late bar arrangements are a nonsense...
parking is very challenging when the hotel is busy
hair dryer hose would not sit in dryer mechanism so useless really
poor quality shower (but functional)
Stained walls in bathroom (I didn't want to investigate further!!!)
20 - 30 minute hike to Sea Front
Breakfast was hearty but poor quality

being an ex soldier I have stayed in many worse places so could cope but I've never paid 190 quid for it!!!

I have rated the service as average due to some very helpful staff from reception who went out of their way to help me. (its not their fault they're working in a crap place!)

Room Tip: There are much better hotels in Scarborough in my opinion book here with caution..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonesontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked in saturday paid for seaview got a room with a glimpse of the sea through scaffolding and blue safety netting room was not clean, en-suite badly in need of a complete refurb. Spoke to staff re seaview told well you have a side view and the builders dont work at weekends. This weekend was for our wedding anniversary this hotel has had its day. Food poor poor quality venue, if you pay you bill with a debit card +50p, credit card £1 we booked 2 nights stayed 1. You have been warned

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

i would say that the hotel is extremely bad. upon booking, they should have contacted me to let me know that they were undergoing refurbishment, but they didn't and as I arrived, i thought "what the hell is going on?" and as for the room, it was very spacious, only one problem the room smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke and it's supposed to be a non-smoking hotel for F sake. i suspect that the cleaner is a smoker and since you can't open the windows in the room i was staying in, i suspect the cleaner went into the bathroom to smoke (since there was a smoke alarm in the living quarters) and also i was sweating like a pig only to realise the radiator was turned on and "who turns on radiators i the middle of hot weather? cheesus)" my mother and father had a much smaller room and they said "not enough room to swing a cat" also the breakfast was of very poor quality (the bacon was bland and the sausage broke into bits when you cut into it) the customer service was shocking also. i could go on and on.

Room Tip: if you happen to use a debit card to pay for your stay and the receptionist says that they charge fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoneWolf247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked a 5 day break with Leasuretime, we knew the hotel wasnt great by the reviews but it was shocking! There are notices everywhere saying that it is being refurbished and it needs it, but perhaps it would have been better to close while this was happening?
Our room had ;- a double bed, single bed, and bunk beds (for two of us) the bath room window was so cracked and broken it had been duck taped together and the white hotel towels had been pushed into the gap to stop it moving ! a blind had been hung to hide all of this.
The ceiling above the bed had a large yellow stain on it from the room above, it was so horrible.

Because we had gone with a coach party we had three long tables allocated to us in the dining room and were told we werent allowed to sit anywhere else as these were for 'the private guests'
the food was a bit school 'dinnerish' as well very stodgy but edible.
however breakfast was very good !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnstonCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in a family room overlooking the sea. Beautiful view!!! Room was nice and clean although the bathroom wasn't as clean a bit disappointing. The food was nice buffet style. The hotel was undergoing some repairs at the back of the hotel but this did not affect us. Lift is a bit old and would imagine hard to manoeuvre in if in a wheelchair I struggled with a pushchair. But overall enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beany25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,303 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#23 of 28 in Scarborough
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing