We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a refurb but lovely anyway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Clifton for one night prior to a trip to Amsterdam. We had a lovely spacious room with a sea view and the buffet breakfast couldn't be faulted . Lovely staff. Location was good for exploring scarborough. We will return :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

I appreciate you get what you pay for this Hotel is poor at best.
The room was just about big enough to fit the double bed in and had a dirty towel wedged into the sash window to try and stem the draught.
The ensuite was minute with a dirty toilet, pubic hairs on the floor, cracked tiles and a mouldy shower tray.
The corridors were dirty with housekeeping items dumped here and there, there was some rubbish on the staircase on the Friday when we arrived and it was still there on Sunday.
All in all we won't be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Myself and my sister decided to book a room here on a whim after seeing it on late rooms. We stayed in room 358 for £29 a night, seen as we were only staying two nights this was ideal. The room was beautifully decorated, no complaints there and we were shocked to discover we had a beautiful sea view, not something we expected considering the price! The bathroom again was clean and we were provided with towels, shampoo, lotion, shower cap etc. there was a couple of cracks in the tiles but this didn't bother us at all because it was so clean. There were no double glazed windows so it did get a bit chilly but again it didn't ruin our stay as when we were in our room we snuggled up in our warm comfy beds and the chill was forgotten about. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, they booked taxis for us and were informative when we asked questions about the area. The food was delicious and plentiful. The bar was a little expensive so on the last night we popped to the local Nisa and opted to have a drink in our room instead. All in all we had a wonderful stay and I plan on returning! This hotel boasts great prices and excellent customer service even though the decor is slightly outdated.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaCharlton91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed here with my family when i was a young child and came back for a stay with my other half a couple of months ago. We are both early twenties but like doing outdoor things rather than staying somewhere expensive that has everything inside, this is why the clifton is perfect. I got a cheap deal online and went and stayed at the hotel for two nights (the max length of time i would want to stay). I got a seaview room which was great, with two big bay windows. Our room was clean and tidy, decor is as many people.mention very outdated and the tv was tiny but it wasmt like we were going to be in there all day. The room was very large and was perfect really for what we wanted.
Granted the staff could have been netter presented and could have been more friendly but they were pleasant enough and happy to help with anything. They had even upgraded us to seaview room for free.
We spent all day out walking on the beach which is just outside the hotel. I didnt eat at the hotel first morning missed breakfast but i know the food is terrible, typical cheap hotel grub. The hotel is dog friendly and id perfect for people who want to go out more than stay in. For the price i see rhe hotel as more of a hostel...which is only a good thing. Spoke to a.number of people in the bar and they had the same opinion as me that the hotel served its purpose very well

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed on a bargain break £20 a night half board. Yes as previouly mentioned it needs a revamp which the Hotel Chain are working on at the moment. We were given a seaview room when we only purchased a standard double. The sheets were lovely crisp and white and lovely clean towels. Plent of hot water and excellent sea views from room 366. The food in the dining was excellent and the service excellent. The reception staff were great as were the bar staff. I can't believe the moaners on this site If you want 5 star luxury then pay 5 star prices dont come on here after you have paid for a budget break and moan about the floor not being vaccumed or the place requires decorating. If you want budget with excellent food then come here. I will be back here without a doubt. Scarborough is so clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose room 366 gorgeous sea views and great for people watching
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QUIRKY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

stayed two nights bed and breakfast from25th january for £48 for two people two nights a bargain. hotel downstairs fine, upstairs dated but clean. bedroom warm clean sheets and towels breakfast fine. what is there to complain about at £12 each a night.
would stay again at a good price dont think i would pay full price though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieh629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The place could be cleaner/ smarter but these places are huge and take a lot of time and work to maintain. But it wasn't dirty at all. Rooms massive buffet breakfast spot on. For £25 for two people you can't complain at all if it was £50 then I might moan but it isn't. Very good and will use again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 315hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $58 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing