We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throughly enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
northants
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Throughly enjoyable”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Great food
Excellent staff
Good entertainment
Some rooms avaerage others very pleasant
Very relaxing
We went on an trip organised by Sainsburys Veterans and had a very very pleasant time the food was excellent

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveoilNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We thank you for your kind comments, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    378
    314
    217
    309
See reviews for
229
811
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

just got back from the cliffton and would never go back the whole hotel needs a clean and refurbished. drinks are expensive and staff aint very friendly, breakfast was tasteless.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelabell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

leicestershire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Date of stay March 2011.
There were things for and against for this hotel. On the plus side the food was really good, as were the waiting staff, who were very helpful and friendly, and the dining area had a relaxed atmosphere. I liked the fact that you had a carafe of iced water brought to your table without asking. Drinks were reasonably priced. Also we had a heater in our bedroom so were able to turn the temperature up or down ourselves; the hotel was warm, clean and the beds comfy. The bedroom was a decent size. The décor on the other hand was quite shabby in parts, mainly the bedrooms and upstairs corridors – frayed carpets, cracked window glass and the whole place could do with a lick of paint, it was very dated, clean but dated. Small things could have improved the hotel with little cost, like cleaning the windows, which were shocking on the outside. The main areas, T.V. room etc, were fine with nice furniture. We had a sea view, which was extra but well worth it as the views were magnificent of the sweeping bay. We felt the parking charge of 7 pounds a night was overpriced for the hotel. The reception staff could have done with some lessons in customer relations. We felt that they were unwelcoming and not very friendly (with the exception of one young lady). We arrived at 2.30pm and asked if our room was ready and were told that they didn’t know (they didn’t bother to find out either) and said that check in time was 3pm and to come back then. As the hotel wasn’t even half full I would assume that the room would have been ready but the receptionist couldn’t be bothered to ring and find out – not very customer friendly. Apart from the check in time, we weren't made to feel welcome at all.
I would say that this hotel was all right, not great but OK for what we paid. Would we go back to this hotel, probably not.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The Hotel situation is excellent we had a seaview room overlooking the bay and each morning the view to get up to was stunning.
The food was excellent with a good selection at every meal.
The Waitress service was excellent, the staff very helpful and friendly especially a very attractive young lady called Beccy. Keep in touch. ( ddmillpond@btinternet.com )
The Hotel fabric was a little bit tired but it was always clean and tidy.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmillpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, and we look forward to welcoming you to The Clifton very soon.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We spent four nights at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised with our room on the fourth floor that had obviously been renovated. The view from the window was outstanding, marred only because the double glazing had broken down and damp was between the panes.
Each evening there was a happy hour at the bar between 4.30 and 5.30pm when drinks were half price. Unfortunately drinks at other times were very expensive.
We were staying on a half board basis and the meals could not be faulted - there was a good choice of starters, mains and desserts at the evening meals.
The entertainment was quite good although my only complaint was that because the evening meal was at 6pm and the entertainment didn't start until 8.30 or later, it seemed a long time to wait.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie3651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, and we look forward to welcoming you to The Clifton very soon.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2011

My friend and I stayed here from Sunday 6th March for 3 nights. we found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, particularily the dining room staff. the room was clean and the maid came every day to tidy up and make the beds etc. i will conceed that the Hotel is a little dated and in some parts a little tired but this did not affect our stay, in fact the hotel has a lot of charm and character which is lacking in some of the modern sterile hotels i have stayed in. overall I would recommend this hotel if you want a well located, spacious hotel that will not cost the earth. Thank you to all the staff for your assistance and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollyplops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment, and we look forward to welcoming you to The Clifton very soon.
Regards.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Outwardly the hotel is scruffy with cracked and peeling paintwork. Reception area is slightly better, but the carpet is decades old and worn. The public areas are all dirty and in need of serious cleaning and updating.

The room was basic and dirty. running a finger along the window frame revealed dirt and showed that no proper cleaning had been done for some time. the furniture was old and tatty. Two "arm chairs" were filthy and fit only for the scrapheap. The carpet was worn through in places. The small kettle had bare wires where the mains lead entered the body of the kettle. This would fails a PAT test.

The TV was old and reception poor. No Freeview, just the five basic channels with no others despite claims to the contrary. Several buttons did not work on the remote, making it difficult to use the TV.

The bathroom looked to have been refurbished, but the small extractor fan was completely inadequate. Building Regs say that a bathroom with no external window must have a fan with an overrun timer (ie, stays on after the light has been switched off). This bathroom did not have this. Inadequate ventilation is a serious health risk.

The bar person doubled as general dogsbody after 09:00, making it difficult to order at the bar as she was rarely there. There was no means of attracting her attention such as a bell. On returning to the hotel at 23:30 one evening, several room keys had been left on the reception counter for anyone to pick up as the counter was unattended - appalling attitude to security.

The "full English breakfast" was a joke. Served from what was described as a "carvery", it consisted of one small sausage, one rasher of bacon, the smallest fried egg I have ever seen, six slices of mushroom that probably constituted one single mushroom, and a quarter of a slice of fried bread. On top of that, it was all stone cold. For this the hotel charges £15. If you want a proper breakfast, go to Cielo in South Bay - it will be hot, substantial and only cost £4.25.

On checking out, the reception person said the bill could not be prepared as there was a problem with the computer. I was expected to leave so they could charge whatever they wanted to my card after I had left. As I had paid for the room in full in advance when booked over the internet, all that was owing was for drinks at the bar. The reception person did not want to use a calculator to add up the six bar vouchers until I said that either she did that or the hotel could send me an invoice in the post. She decided in the end to use a calculator and I paid the bill. Very suspicious behaviour.

At the moment this is a very poor quality hotel in every way. It is far too expensive for what you get and is the worst value for money I have ever had from a hotel. This hotel needs to be taken over by someone who actually cares about providing a good service. Until that happens, avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem77FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliebellwood, General Manager at The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
I remember you checking out and I don't recall you never mentioning any of the problems listed above. Your concern was the fact that you may be charged for items after your departure, something we are entitled to do, if they were not paid for on check out, as explained under the terms and conditions on the registration card which you signed on arrival, but possibly didn't read. As for your other comments, I am so surprised that if the hotel was as bad as you say, you didn't feel the need to mention them to me, or any member of my team at the time, and the use of the word 'dogsbody' to describe a member of my staff, is degrading the good work that ALL my staff do, but that member of staff in particular.
Very Best Wishes.
Julie Bellwood.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,789 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough

Property: The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Address: Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm Yorkshire welcome, The Clifton Hotel Scarborough offers some of the most amazing, uninterrupted sea views in Scarborough and is situated only a short distance from many of the town's attractions. This Scarborough hotel makes the perfect base for those visiting the Yorkshire Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Scarborough
Clifton Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing