We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please focus on quality!”
Review of Hickory's Roadhouse - CLOSED

Hickory's Roadhouse
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Please focus on quality!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I visited this restaurant yesterday with my husband. The restaurant is nice and bright but lacking in atmosphere a bit (music is very quiet and could be a bit more in style with the American theme). The staff were friendly and attentive. At first glance the menu looks good value, we both ordered the foot long hot dogs and we hoping to be impressed but what arrived was a big bread bun with 2 thin processed (tinned style) hotdogs in it when spending nearly £8 on hotdog and chips I really wasn't expecting that. Some of the other meals that came out from the kitchen looked better and this place could be great if they improve the quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    45
    17
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Fun Place, Good Service and Good Food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is an authentic American style diner with a wide ranging menu. The staff are really helpful, great service and a good fun atmostphere.

Definitely worth a visit for the experience and the food is very good. There's a few food/ eating challenges which some people have managed but whether you go for a challenge or from the main menu, you will not leave feeling hungry!!

They didn't have a bar licence when we went so it's BYO (Bring Your Own) There's a NISA shop right opposite so no hardship there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathJSamples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Unusually for me, I didn't read the Tripadvisor reviews before visiting this place. Really glad I didn't as I might not have tried it. Service was friendly and fast. Pulled pork and sliders great. You really need to be hungry to finish the food here. Didn't need a starter or dessert which meant it was very reasonably priced. Much better than similar places in London.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Took our son and his girlfriend to celebrate their exam results. The four of us had a fantastic time. The whole atmosphere was really good. The 50's style furniture, the decor, the friendly staff. The food was fabulous and to be fair, we couldn't fault the place. Have paid more for a fish and chips restaurant meal than we spent here. Would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys eating out. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friday 16th August. should of been Friday 13th!!!!!! Terrible”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner had heard the word about a new restaurant so decided to see what the fuss was about!! As we arrived the exterior looked fab and as we looked through the window the interior also looked promising.. As we have been to the US over a dozen times I admit we had high expectations.. The menu looked promising although very expensive we headed in, it was around 5:30 and we stood where the sign said "please wait to be seated" we waited, and waited, and waited some 5 minutes later we were greated and told to sit where we liked????? "Please wait to be seated"hmm ok??? Our order was taken promptly .. The staff where not very friendly and very blunt no smiles and no manors and the "American diner" doesn't serve alcohol???? Or any American drinks????? The toilets are so dark dingy and cave like!! They need a drastic revamp!!!! The floor throughout was dangerously slippy and greasy!!! We over looked this and waited eagerly for around 40 mins for our food!!!! The burger was tasteless and cold, the fries Were cold and soggy the coleslaw tasted very old!! My partners favourite in the US was the famous sloppy joe, he described hickorys version as an awful alternative. The food was way way over priced for what it is, we had to walk up the street to a cash machine because when we came to pay we where then told they don't take card??? Management need to step up and pull there finger out fast!!! over all a very unpleasant experience we will not return. We could of overlooked most things and returned and recommended to others if the food was good but it just wasn't even ok! I imagine I will see a sign asking to hire kitchen staff soon. If this happens we may return until then the pizza parlour round the corner has my money!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Diharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Roadhouse also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Burniston, Scarborough
 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing