We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Troutbeck Cottage”
Review of Scalby Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scalby Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Troutbeck Cottage”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a holiday from week 14th -21st February & were delighted to be greeted by Jayne who was friendly & effecient.(a nice bottle of wins & valentine hearts were a lovey touch.Thank you)
Our super comfortable immaculate cottage was well equiped & our one small request for a dishdrainer (there is also a dishwasher) was fulfilled as if by the fairies.
The beds are comfortable & all furnishings of good quality.
A very relaxing holiday & our daughter & son in law & children had a 3 bedroom cottage & were delighted with their property too.
It was lovely to see the area & a wonderful base. We have travelled to far away places too but all agreed these cottages cannot be beaten for comfort etc.
Only tiny moan was the clay pathway & car park but they are working to remedy this so if you go to visit take your wellies or suitable footwear & I am sure like we found it wouldn't cause too much of a nuisance.
It was a memorable 44th wedding anniversary for us as a couple & as a family.

Room Tip: All cottages are peacefully located.Just choose on your requirement of the number of people travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
95
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Amazing recently refurbished cottage with wood burning stove, underfloor hearing and every amenity you could want!
We went for a quiet week over Christmas and were pleasantly surprised to find a decorated Xmas tree awaiting our arrival! Such a thoughtful addition :)
Lovely area with plenty of easy walks along the coast and inland.
Short trip into Scarborough or up to Whitby. The outlet mall in York is a little further for the wet days that may need to be filled with shopping!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NSq1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our long weekend away to celebrate my wife's birthday together with our chocolate Labrador. On our arrival we were kindly upgraded to Harrowby Lodge which was superbly equipped with underfloor heating and log burner. Scalby Lodge is set in a wonderful location and we enjoyed the cliff top walks along the Cumberland Way to Scarborough. We enjoyed our stay so much we didn't want to leave! We would recommend Scalby Lodge if you want to experience luxurious self catering accommodation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just spent a great weekend in Castle View celebrating a family birthday. It was perfect for the occasion. Loads of space, comfortable, really well-equipped (especially the kitchen with plenty of crockery and really good cooking equipment if you need it), towels, linen etc. Lovely decor, immaculately clean and a friendly welcome from Jane who runs the cottages. We were keen to get somewhere cosy as we had elderly relatives with us and it was the end of January. We weren't disappointed, the underfloor heating and log burner kept us toasty all weekend, meaning we could relax and enjoy the breathtaking views. Would highly recommend this complex and definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The WOW factor abounds in each room of this beautiful cottage and the view is to die for. Worth getting up at 6 for the sunrise over the Castle! We loved it and whilst only staying for 3 nights I could quite happily live there !!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a fabulous time at Scalby Lodge in September. We stayed at Yerborough Cottage which had 2 good sized double bedrooms and a twin. The doubles had a tv each which was handy. The cottage was beautifully decorated and well equipped. The outside play area was lovely, highlights were a big sand pit with lots of toys in, a cute little play house with table, chairs and toys inside, a wooden pirate ship, and a little indoor games room with pool table, dvds and games to borrow. There were wine and biscuits in the cottage on arrival, a lovely touch, and Jayne (who looks after the site) was very friendly, providing more dishwasher tablets when requested, and recommending take away restaurants - Nishat Spice curry and North Bay Fisheries fish and chips were both delicious. We loved it so much we have already booked to stay in Yerborough Cottage next summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had to join Trip advisor to post my first review as this accommodation needs mentioning so that everyone else can book and enjoy this amazing accommodation.

Stayed in Fell Cottage which has 2 bedrooms and one family bathroom.

Interior of the cottage was immaculate, excellently designed to be both spacious and cozy with a log burning stove in the living room and comfortable sofa's to cuddle up on and read a book. Underfloor heating kept the cottage cozy and warm on a blustery November weekend. Large windows gave amazing views of the coast and Scarborough castle.

Kitchen was really well equipped with everything you could need and the TV's in both bedrooms were a great touch as was the free wifi which was fast and easy to use (no registering!).

There was direct access to the Cleveland Way from the property which enabled great walks and the opportunity to spot some wildlife.

Would recommend to everyone I know, from couples to families.

Jayne (manager) and staff were really welcoming and happy to answer any queries and gave great recommendations for nearby restaurants and pubs. Information pack provided was really useful too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnCo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
2.2 mi away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#10 of 34 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalby Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalby Lodge

Property: Scalby Lodge
Address: Scalby Lodge Burniston Road, Scarborough YO13 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scalby Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Her Majesty the Queen, these former farm buildings have been transformed into 15 stunning luxury holiday cottages, which sit in an idyllic cliff-top location in close proximity to the elegant seaside town of Scarborough. Scalby Lodge offers an ideal holiday location from which to explore both the North York Moors National Park and the glorious Heritage Coast of Yorkshire.The 15 self-catering cottages at Scalby Lodge are:Troutbeck - sleeps twoLodge, Springthorpe, Fortescue, Musgrave, Fell, Harrowby - sleep fourHaydock - sleeps fiveTweedmouth and Yerborough - sleep sixCastle View, Lodge Farmhouse, Scarborough, The Cart Shed - sleep eightThe Barn - sleeps ten ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing