We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service shame about the food!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry Ramsden's Scarborough - CLOSED

Harry Ramsden's Scarborough
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good service shame about the food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Visited for a late dinner, Friday 30th May 2014. Luke warm food, fish looked as if it had been stood too long waiting to be sent up. Chips looked like the last of the batch - toenail clippings! Come on guys even though it was late surely the QUALITY AND STANDARD should not drop. Not the best fish and chips I have had, plus whoever heard of a fish and chip restaurant running out of mushy peas especially trading under this name. Sadly can only recommend the good waitress service who could not apologise enough for what was not available. Overpriced and poor quality. Would not go again or recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank janice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    89
    63
    98
    159
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I visited Harry Ramsdens with my partner yesterday for dinner the service was brilliant very friendly organised staff and really lovely food we both enjoyed it lots will definitely visit again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelJT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Went to the upstairs restaurant today with my friend with the hope of a nice fish tea with a view. The window seats were all gone but just before our order arrived one became available. Sadly the manageress refused us a move. She advised that she now refuses all table moves as a former customer threatened to punch her when the wrong order came to her table!!! Seriously, I struggled to get my head at round that one.

Then the food. Cod was wonderful. Tasty and enjoyable, however the chips and the mushy peas were cold.

We were given s 20% discount when we advised that the food was disappointing & nobody asked us if everything was ok?

I wouldn't go back here as there is a clear lack of flexibility and food not as good for the costs, would have been better with take away chippy

Helpful?
2 Thank HandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Long wait for little reward”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I visited the upstairs restaurant of Harry Ramsden's in Scarborough. I was asked to be seated by the only waitress who was very polite. I waited over 10 minutes to place my order - I had wanted a Homity Pie but this was no longer offered so I chose the Greek Salad instead. Some 20 minutes later the waitress came back to my table to tell me they had no Feta cheese! This left the only vegetarian option being lasagne which was below standard pub grub but at £8.75 was not a pub price. Overpriced, understaffed and kitchen staff who take 20 minutes to find they are out of cheese - hopeless.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No vegetarian food available that was on the menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and child love fish and my husband had always wanted to try a Harry Ramsden's. Their fish was a good size and they enjoyed it but the chips were terribly overcooked.

I had a side salad and some of the terrible chips... They could offer a vegetarian lasagne and something else I didn't fancy (had wanted the Greek salad or the homity pie).

Lovely view from the restaurant though is the only positive thing I experienced.

Can only imagine that we were unlucky to visit when we did as I think this chain is popular.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Posythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Ramsden's Scarborough also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Burniston, Scarborough
 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing